Page 1 of 1

Limit memory option?

Posted: 2010-07-05T18:10:28-07:00
by 3DTOPO
Greetings,

I am just getting up to speed with ImageMagick and I am loving it!

Is there a limit memory option for the MagickWand API similar to the limit memory switch for the convert utility?

Code: Select all

convert -define registry:temporary-path=/data/tmp -limit memory 16mb

Thanks!

Re: Limit memory option?

Posted: 2010-07-06T03:42:18-07:00
by magick

Re: Limit memory option?

Posted: 2010-07-19T20:50:08-07:00
by 3DTOPO
Thanks for the link.

I am using MAGICK_MEMORY_LIMIT which works great, but I understand it also limits the disk pixel cache.

Is there a way to limit just the RAM and not the swap cache?

Thanks again!

Re: Limit memory option?

Posted: 2010-07-30T14:23:11-07:00
by 3DTOPO
Apparently MAGICK_MEMORY_LIMIT seems to control the maximum pixel cache for the heap otherwise it caches to disk.

MAGICK_MAP_LIMIT seems to control the maximum pixel cache otherwise it caches to disk.

If MAP limit is not using memory from the heap, what is it using before it caches it to disk?