Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
Draketar
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014-09-22T16:38:11-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Post by Draketar »

Hello there,

I'm having a hard time here, I'm trying to convert all .jpeg I have in a folder thanks to the command
convert –resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
but I have always have this error showing up :

Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

C:\Users\Cyril>cd C:\Users\Cyril\Desktop\Photos\Resize

C:\Users\Cyril\Desktop\Photos\Resize>convert -resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
convert.exe: unable to open image `â?"resize': No such file or directory @ error
/blob.c/OpenBlob/2709.
convert.exe: no decode delegate for this image format `' @ error/constitute.c/Re
adImage/501.
convert.exe: unable to open image `1600x1200': No such file or directory @ error
/blob.c/OpenBlob/2709.
convert.exe: no decode delegate for this image format `' @ error/constitute.c/Re
adImage/501.

C:\Users\Cyril\Desktop\Photos\Resize>

My computer is running with Windows 7 x32

Thanks for your help
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Post by fmw42 »

convert –resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
Convert does not work this way. It needs one input specified and one output. You would have to loop over each image and process it.

But mogrify works the way you want. It process all files in a folder and makes an output for each.

Code: Select all

mogrify –resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
But you will walk over each input with the output, unless you use the -path option.

see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/#mogrify
Draketar
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014-09-22T16:38:11-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Post by Draketar »

Well, I'm very new to this...it worked 2 times then begun to bug.
Is there any software or command that I can use to do multiple resize ? Like it work with a Droplet: with photoshop but with a free software ?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Post by fmw42 »

Yes, IM can do that, but you need to write a script. In your case, for droplet, it would be a Windows Bat file and I do not use Windows. So one of the other Windows users would need to help you. Here is the basic command of the form you need for each image. See
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/files/#write

For new users, see

http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... -tools.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/

Also see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/windows/

since in Windows, parentheses are not escaped by \ and new lines are symboled by ^ rather than \
Draketar
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014-09-22T16:38:11-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Post by Draketar »

I will see what I can do ! Thank you for help :)
Post Reply