Run ImageMagick on an iSeries

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
aherman
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-11-05T11:28:16-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Run ImageMagick on an iSeries

Post by aherman »

I am trying to run ImageMagick on the iSeries. I have followed Scott Klement's directions at http://www.scottklement.com/imagemagick/. I am not overly familiar with ImageMagick or the PASE environment.

This is the command I am running:
/QOpenSys/usr/local/bin/convert /tmp/Images/20140001.TIF /tmp/Images/20140001.pdf -verbose

to convert from a TIF to a PDF. I did the same with the file yesterday from the windows command line. This is what I get:

convert: unable to open image `/tmp/Images/20140001.pdf': A file or directory in the path name does not exist..

I am on an old version 6.2.3, not sure which to get to update the version.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Run ImageMagick on an iSeries

Post by snibgo »

Windows normally uses backslashes \ although forward slashes / will work here.

What is the result of:

Code: Select all

dir \tmp\Images\20140001.pdf
If it says it can't find the file, then that's the problem.

v6.2.3 is very very old. I suggest you upgrade (and get the current Ghostscript, for PDF files).
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
aherman
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-11-05T11:28:16-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Run ImageMagick on an iSeries

Post by aherman »

not sure which version I need to load, but will work on the newer version.

However, the file that it says it can not find is the file name I am converting to, so it should not exist before?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Run ImageMagick on an iSeries

Post by snibgo »

Ah, yes, sorry, I misread the OP.

Try it without "-verbose". This should be at the start, not the end. Try:

Code: Select all

/QOpenSys/usr/local/bin/convert logo: logo.png
/QOpenSys/usr/local/bin/convert logo: /tmp/Images/logo.png
/QOpenSys/usr/local/bin/convert logo: /tmp/Images/logo.pdf
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply