Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2014-12-26T21:31:43-07:00
On Windows 8.1, downloaded from
http://www.imagemagick.org/download/bin ... static.exe .
The default format for output filetypes seems broken. For example, the following produce binary-identical files, all in the PPM compressed format.
Code: Select all
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.png
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.jpg
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.tiff
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.gif
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.exr
A workaround is to use a prefix, eg
Code: Select all
%IMG6901%convert rose: PNG:rose.png
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2014-12-26T22:20:23-07:00
I see the same thing on my Mac OSX Snow Leopard with IM 6.9.0.1
convert rose: rose.png
identify -verbose rose.png
Image: rose.png
Format: PPM (Portable pixmap format (color))
It seems to keep whatever is the input format rather than use the output image's suffix to change formats.
convert lena33.jpg tmp.png
identify tmp.png
tmp.png JPEG 512x512 512x512+0+0 8-bit sRGB 76.2KB 0.000u 0:00.000
JodieC
Posts: 82 Joined: 2014-10-03T21:38:50-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by JodieC » 2014-12-27T06:53:16-07:00
I've had something like this happen as well, I had to change my scripts on Linux to prefix the format.
Then I got three segfaults I can't reproduce. *smh*
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064 Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00
Post
by magick » 2014-12-27T07:42:15-07:00
We can reproduce the problem you posted and have a patch in ImageMagick 6.9.0-2 Beta, available by sometime tomorrow. Thanks.
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2014-12-27T08:18:23-07:00
As this has broken a fundamental feature of IM, you might consider re-releasing 6.9.0-1 or scheduling a rapid release of 6.9.0-2.
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064 Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00
Post
by magick » 2014-12-27T09:54:18-07:00
The 6.9.0-2 release is available now.
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2014-12-27T17:18:22-07:00
Great, thanks.
JodieC
Posts: 82 Joined: 2014-10-03T21:38:50-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by JodieC » 2014-12-28T11:26:40-07:00
Seems to work better from here, thanks!
Marsu42
Posts: 75 Joined: 2014-06-12T03:17:45-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Location: Berlin
Post
by Marsu42 » 2014-12-31T09:58:37-07:00
magick wrote: The 6.9.0-2 release is available now.
Thanks for fixing this, after trying to debug my scripts to no avail, this is a good incentive to visit the IM forum
... I couldn't imagine for this basic fault, actually IM itself is to blame. Probably some regression testing suite to avoid something like this would be in order, or extending the beta testing period of new versions?
dlemstra
Posts: 1570 Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:
Post
by dlemstra » 2014-12-31T10:13:04-07:00
We added a unit test for this mistake I made
The patch was created right before the release.