Imagemagick STATIC build with Freetype

Questions and postings pertaining to the development of ImageMagick, feature enhancements, and ImageMagick internals. ImageMagick source code and algorithms are discussed here. Usage questions which are too arcane for the normal user list should also be posted here.
Post Reply
will627
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-02-22T15:34:12-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Imagemagick STATIC build with Freetype

Post by will627 »

I have been trying to compile ImageMagick for an ARM development board on my Ubuntu Linux machine and have been using the following configure options

Code: Select all

./configure --disable-shared --enable-delegate-build
. I have built the libraries I want to use (libpng, zlib, freetype) with ARM compiler, but the configure report just doesn't want to recognize the presence of the free type library. I specified the CCPFLAGS and LDFLAGS so they point to the locations of the built libraries, but only freetype delegate support doesn't show up after running configure. How I can I get it to recognize freetype? Am I doing this correctly?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Imagemagick STATIC build with Freetype

Post by fmw42 »

Is freetype installed in the same location as all the rest of your delegates?
will627
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-02-22T15:34:12-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Imagemagick STATIC build with Freetype

Post by will627 »

What I have done is build all the delegate libraries I want (my final executable simply needs the ability to write text onto a PNG image) and move all of their files into the same directory(/home/app), which I then reference in my LDFLAGS and CPPFLAGS. So, for example, after I built libpng I placed its /bin files directly into /home/app/bin, its /lib files into /home/app/lib, etc. I did the same for freetype. Should this allow imagemagick build to find it properly? Is there any way I can tell it explicitly where to find the freetype library if it is not finding it automatically?
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Imagemagick STATIC build with Freetype

Post by fmw42 »

I am not that much of guru to tell you that you can just move files. But the other thing to check is whether freetype works standalone. It is possible that it did not get installed properly due to some missing support delegate that it needed. And perhaps that also might need to be moved to the same directory.
Post Reply