Sorry to be thick

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
ianboag
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015-03-04T00:41:33-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Sorry to be thick

Post by ianboag »

I haven't figured out how I get this command line thing going ...

I have a BMP
I want to rotate it 180 degrees
then crop it by some specified amount
then add a watermark
then resize it down a bit
then make it a jpg

I bet there's someone who could show me the (DOS) batch file code that would do this :-)

Call me thick ....

Cheers IB
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Sorry to be thick

Post by Bonzo »

Everybody has to learn at some point ianboag.
I am not a big batch file user but I have written some examples on my website.
ianboag
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015-03-04T00:41:33-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Sorry to be thick

Post by ianboag »

Thanks Bonzo. I am a fairly competent batch file user - I just couldn't figure what program I invoke to get the functions. I sort of assumed it would be "ImageMagick" followed by specific commands. Now I understand (I think) ... :-)
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Sorry to be thick

Post by snibgo »

It would be ...

Code: Select all

convert inputfile some_options outputfile
For some_options, see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... ptions.php

See also the usage page for loads of examples (but in Unix format): http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/

See my pages for loads of Windows BAT examples, but they are sometimes more advanced.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Sorry to be thick

Post by Bonzo »

One thing to note is Windows has a convert program as well. I have never had a problem as I let Imagemagick install an environmental variable to Windows. I assume the people who have a problem do not do this and then instead of using Imagemagick convert to modify their image they are using the Windows program that renames files. So the outcome is an error message that confuses them.

You can rename the Imagemagick convert program to get around this. In IM version 7 you will be able to use magick instead of convert.
Post Reply