Hello All,
I am new to imagemagick and I need to resize a PSD file with multiple layers while also retaining the layers. I have tried resizing the file using the convert utility using the following command below and while I get the full image in the output it doesn't retain the multiple layers that were included in the input file.
# convert input.psd[0] -verbose -resize 2048x1536 output.psd
Thank you for your help in advance.
Resize PSD while Retaining Layers
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Resize PSD while Retaining Layers
input.psd[0]
will retain only the flattened layers of the PSD.
try
Code: Select all
convert input.psd -verbose -resize 2048x1536 output.psd
Re: Resize PSD while Retaining Layers
Hello,
Thank you for your response. Yes, removing [0] helps retain the layers, however I am unable to open the output.psd file in Photoshop as I get an error saying "There was a problem reading the layer data. Read the composite data instead?"
Thank you for your response. Yes, removing [0] helps retain the layers, however I am unable to open the output.psd file in Photoshop as I get an error saying "There was a problem reading the layer data. Read the composite data instead?"
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Resize PSD while Retaining Layers
try
find out how many layers, then skip the first. Or better just do
That will skip the first, flattened layer, [0]
see the top of the page at http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/#list_ops about -1 layer as the last one.
Code: Select all
identify input.psd
Code: Select all
convert input.psd[1--1] -verbose -resize 2048x1536 output.psd
see the top of the page at http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/#list_ops about -1 layer as the last one.
Re: Resize PSD while Retaining Layers
Thank you for your help in resolving this issue.