I am using the imagemagick CLI (convert) for quite a few image manipulation tasks on big and lots of images and was thinking that these tasks could be done on the GPU with OpenCL.
I know that IM supports OpenCL and also that I need to recompile it.
So I grabbed myself the latest copy of the source code. Ran the ./configure script with the --enable-opencl flag like somebody sugested online. But it doesn't work. In the configuration it outputs under features it only shows "OpenMP".
And after making and using the convert cli it is apparent that no load is shifted onto my GPU. (radeontop doesn't show any usage)
Am I doing something wrong? (Well...clearly...but what?) And can anyone help me with this? I couldn't find anything regarding this in the documentation.
My hardware:
AMD Phenom II X6, 1090T @ 4GHz
Sapphire R9 380X, 4GB GDDR5
16GB DDR3
Enable OpenCL in imagemagick
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 2016-05-18T06:50:52-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Enable OpenCL in imagemagick
check the config.log file and see what errors it tells you about the OpenCL install, which should have installed automatically if your hardware supports it.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 2016-05-18T06:50:52-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
Re: Enable OpenCL in imagemagick
Hey. Thanks for your quick reply. I hadn't considered that there might be a config.log.
I checked it and it fails while compiling a file that includes
I'm using the amdgpu-pro driver and have the amdgpu-pro-libopencl-dev packages installed. I guess that's an error specifically with that driver :/
I checked it and it fails while compiling a file that includes
Code: Select all
#include <OpenCL/cl.h>
...
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Enable OpenCL in imagemagick
Sorry, I do not know much about OpenCL requirements.