Hello,
When using montage, I tend to run it on all images (of various types) in the current directory to build a thumbnail gallery to give me an idea as to what that directory holds.
If one (or more) of those images is an animated GIF, montage inserts all the individual frames into the gallery image. Sometimes, this single GIF can be the majority of the gallery image. Thus, the gallery is not representative of the image directory.
Is there a way I can have it only include the first image frame and ignore the rest whenever it encounters multi-image files?
Thanks.
SOLVED - montage - only get first frame of multi-image files?
- teracow
- Posts: 19
- Joined: 2013-04-30T02:55:12-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
SOLVED - montage - only get first frame of multi-image files?
Last edited by teracow on 2016-05-28T20:08:30-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: montage - only get first frame of multi-image files?
specify image.gif[0]
That will select the first frame (numbered from 0)
You can add [0] to all your images, even if they only have one frame/page/layer.
See selecting frames at http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
In the future, please always provide your IM version and platform, since syntax may be different.
That will select the first frame (numbered from 0)
You can add [0] to all your images, even if they only have one frame/page/layer.
See selecting frames at http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
In the future, please always provide your IM version and platform, since syntax may be different.
- teracow
- Posts: 19
- Joined: 2013-04-30T02:55:12-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: montage - only get first frame of multi-image files?
Thanks fred.
ImageMagick 6.8.9-8 Q16 x86_64 2016-05-05
on OpenSUSE 13.2 64b
ImageMagick 6.8.9-8 Q16 x86_64 2016-05-05
on OpenSUSE 13.2 64b
- teracow
- Posts: 19
- Joined: 2013-04-30T02:55:12-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: montage - only get first frame of multi-image files?
So, instead of:
I'm now using:
which is correctly grabbing only the first frame of each image.
Thanks!
Code: Select all
$ montage * output.png
Code: Select all
$ montage *[0] output.png
Thanks!