So I need to convert a ton of gifs to png and Imagemagick was recommended.
But I am feeling really dumb because I cannot find the "Convert" command?
Help!
Thanks,
Ray
New User...Where is the "convert" command?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?
After installing Imagemagick, you use it from a terminal window by typing commands. What is your IM version and platform? You can find that by opening a terminal or command window and typing:
If all your gifs are in one folder, you can convert them to PNGs using the mogrify command rather than converting them one at a time using the convert command. For example if all your GIFs are in a folder called test1 and you create a new folder test2, then
All new PNGs will be in folder test2.
For novices, see
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/
Code: Select all
convert -version
Code: Select all
cd path2/test1
mogrify -path path2/test2 -format png *.gif
For novices, see
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/
Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?
I installed ImageMagick-7.0.3-1-Q16-x64-dll
I am not seeing the neither mogrify or convert commands. I do see the html files for them.
I am running Windows 7.
Ray
I am not seeing the neither mogrify or convert commands. I do see the html files for them.
I am running Windows 7.
Ray
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?
They should be in whatever directory you installed them in.
What happens when you type "where convert" at the console?
What happens when you type "where convert" at the console?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
- GeeMack
- Posts: 718
- Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: Central Illinois, USA
Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?
With ImageMagick 7 you'll be looking for a command called "magick". You use that instead of "convert". To use "mogrify" or the other commands, do it like "magick mogrify ...".Rayj00 wrote:I installed ImageMagick-7.0.3-1-Q16-x64-dll [...] I am not seeing the neither mogrify or convert commands.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?
On Windows IM 7, I believe you need to check the legacy option when installing to be able to use simply convert. Otherwise, as GeeMack said, use
magick ...
or
magick convert ...
or
magick mogrify ...
etc.
magick ...
or
magick convert ...
or
magick mogrify ...
etc.
Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?
Yes. Thanks GeeMack and fmw42. Making more sense now.
Ray
Ray