Run-time error 429: The solution

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
petzi69
Posts: 8
Joined: 2016-10-28T22:06:50-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Run-time error 429: The solution

Post by petzi69 »

When I first started to program VBA scripts to use IM with Excel, I run into the same problem as many others before.

Code: Select all

    Dim objIM
    Dim myimage(1)
    Set objIM = CreateObject("ImageMagickObject.MagickImage.1")
caused an error message: Runtime Error 429 - ActiveX Component Can't Create Object
My search on this forum had only limited success, except that I found several topics about this problem.
The reason is rather simple: you have installed a 64-bit version of IM, but your programming environment is a 32-bit application, like my Office-365.
The simple solution: uninstall your 64-bit IM and reinstall a 32-bit version. Then everything works fine.
I'm not sure if there will be any disadvantages form this. Maybe IM runs a bit slower when you are working with very big images. I doubt that it's noticeable for human beings...
OS: Windows 10
IM: ImageMagick-7.0.3-4-Q16-x86
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Run-time error 429: The solution

Post by Bonzo »

Thank you for taking time to post this answer
SophieTucker414op
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-04-27T21:39:05-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Run-time error 429: The solution

Post by SophieTucker414op »

Uninstall the Microsoft .NET Framework & Reinstall it again on your PC –

Go to the start menu
Search or go to the Control Panel
Click on the ‘Programs and Features‘ option there
Select the “.NET framework” Software there &
Right-click on it & select Uninstall to uninstall it
After that, close the tab
Now, again reinstall it again
That’s it, done
By uninstalling and reinstalling the .NET framework can also fix and solve this Runtime Error 429 ActiveX Component can’t create object problem for you.
Still facing the same error try other methods here
https://www.errorsolutions.tech/error/r ... error-429/
Post Reply