We upgraded from version 6.9.0-Q16 to 7.0.3-6-Q16, both are x64 versions.
we were previously using the mogrify command to convert gif to png files.
The command under version 6.9.0-Q16 was:
mogrify -resize 465 -format png c:\foldername\*.gif
this would take the gif files - resize them & convert them to png format & dump the png files to the same foldername as the gif files
we need the same functionality in the new version. The mogrify.exe command does not exist & the ImageMagick website says the command name is convert. There is no convert.exe program with this version either
Command Line issue after upgrade
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
you need to preface command such as mogrify in IM 7 with "magick"
Try
magick is the new convert in IM 7. But to call the other modules, you need to specify them by magick xxx, since they are still IM 6 modules called by magick.
See http://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php
Try
Code: Select all
magick mogrify -resize 465 -format png c:\foldername\*.gif
See http://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
Thanks, That works.
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
So out of interest can you mogrify using magick alone?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
I do not think so in Windows IM 7, unless perhaps you extract the legacy components. But I am not sure of that. You could easily test that.
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
No it does not work.
It just seems strange that "magick is the new convert in IM 7" but you still need to use legacy programs.
It just seems strange that "magick is the new convert in IM 7" but you still need to use legacy programs.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
Did you download the legacy components in Windows? There is supposedly a checkbox in the Windows binary installer that you need to check if you want the legacy code.
As I understand it, only convert was changed to magick, but the other programs need to be called by magick to conform to the way calls are made in magick. But I am not a coder and do not know the details. My rational had to do with the question about using % escapes in montage. I was told that montage was not upgraded to conform to IM 7 code and was just the old IM 6 code being called by magick.
Perhaps one of the developers can clear this up.
As I understand it, only convert was changed to magick, but the other programs need to be called by magick to conform to the way calls are made in magick. But I am not a coder and do not know the details. My rational had to do with the question about using % escapes in montage. I was told that montage was not upgraded to conform to IM 7 code and was just the old IM 6 code being called by magick.
Perhaps one of the developers can clear this up.
Re: Command Line issue after upgrade
Yes it works with magick mogrify but not just magick.
Personally if it was going to be done this way I would have tried to make it into an operator and used magick -mogrify but that is probably a lot of work on top of what they are already doing.
Personally if it was going to be done this way I would have tried to make it into an operator and used magick -mogrify but that is probably a lot of work on top of what they are already doing.