How to slice up image of text

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
damonm
Posts: 33
Joined: 2017-03-24T11:53:20-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by damonm »

Changing it to double quotes worked. It's going somewhere but then stalls again - any ideas on this?

c:\Images>rem From image pat_crp.png, guillotines into pieces.
guilFind: OFFSET=192
787,0,graya(0,1)
811,0,graya(0,1)
835,0,graya(0,1)
859,0,graya(0,1)
883,0,graya(0,1)
907,0,graya(0,1)
931,0,graya(0,1)
955,0,graya(0,1)
980,0,graya(0,1)
983,0,graya(0,1)
1027,0,graya(0,1)
1051,0,graya(0,1)
2011,0,graya(0,1)
2035,0,graya(0,1)
guilFind: nCUTS=14
979
1003
1027
1051
1075
1099
1123
1147
1172
1175
1219
1243
2203
2227
'identify' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'cPrefix' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
convert c:\Images\pat_crp.png -rotate -90
( +clone -crop 980x+0+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_0.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+980+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_1.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1004+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_2.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1028+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_3.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1052+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_4.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1076+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_5.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1100+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_6.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1124+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_7.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 25x+1148+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_8.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 3x+1173+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_9.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 44x+1176+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_10.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+1220+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_11.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 960x+1244+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_12.png +delete )
( +clone -crop 24x+2204+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_13.png +delete )
( +clone -crop +2228+0 +repage -rotate 90 -write subs_14.png )
NULL:
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by fmw42 »

If you are running IM 7, then you need to replace identify with magick identify
damonm
Posts: 33
Joined: 2017-03-24T11:53:20-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by damonm »

I found it - what about cPrefix? That's not a batch file that I have? I'll double check your site.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by snibgo »

Bother, sorry, cPrefix.exe is an unpublished program. Here, it simply adds a "^" to the end of each line in the BAT file that has been created.

In guilChop.bat, replace this line:

Code: Select all

cPrefix /p0 /i%SCR_FILE% /r"^"
... with these three lines:

Code: Select all

set SCR_FILE2=guilc_tmp2.bat
copy %SCR_FILE% %SCR_FILE2%
@( @for /F "tokens=*" %%L in (%SCR_FILE2%) do @echo %%L ^^) >%SCR_FILE%
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
damonm
Posts: 33
Joined: 2017-03-24T11:53:20-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by damonm »

Getting even closer, it runs and leaves me with three png files. The issue now is that rather than getting strips like this:

Image

it actually spits out the columns rather than the rows as above. I tried rotating it first but that didn't seem to make a difference. Any ideas?
damonm
Posts: 33
Joined: 2017-03-24T11:53:20-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by damonm »

I did some more pre-processing of the image and came up with strips. One more thing that if I can nail down will have this thing in the bag, it's cutting off the amount on the far right side, can you tell me why that might be? It usually cuts it off just after the comma (if it's thousands) or just before the number if it's hundreds. Is there a command I could edit about the right hand side cutoff because I can edit the image beforehand to have no margin on the right side.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by snibgo »

Re horizontal or vertical: What command are you using to call guillotine.bat? Text at the top of the file describes the six parameters you can use.
damonm wrote:... it's cutting off the amount on the far right side, can you tell me why that might be?
I don't follow. Please provide samples.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
damonm
Posts: 33
Joined: 2017-03-24T11:53:20-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by damonm »

In the example above that's blurred out, the last column is an amount. In the finished product, the amount is getting chopped off if it's less than $1,000. If it's more than $1,000 it leaves the $1 and the comma. Does that make sense?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by snibgo »

If you are chopping horizontally, it shouldn't make any vertical chops.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
damonm
Posts: 33
Joined: 2017-03-24T11:53:20-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by damonm »

Hey again! I've decided not to worry too much about the amount due that is getting chopped off on the right hand side of each cut, but I have a couple of other questions: 1.) Is there a way to make this process loop through a batch of .jpg files (I need to 156 pages)? and 2.) Is there a way to change the output destination file to another folder?

Many thanks again for all your help, you have made something possible that I thought might be impossible!

Damon
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to slice up image of text

Post by snibgo »

I assume you now have a script with parameters for input file and output file.

Write another script with a "for" loop, to loop through your JPEGs and calls that script once per JPEG. The output filename can contain a folder.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply