ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
ResourceSpace is a digital asset management tool, so I upload a hires image and it converts it into 3 smaller versions.
I have installed the software in the past on an old provider with no issue but Im trying a number of time on MediaTemple (GRID) and always hit the same wall so finally going to figure out whats going on.
All original Images seem to upload fine and if the images are small it works as expected but if the image is over about 6-7 meg the 3 small versions including thumbnails, are incomplete or missing althogether. Its doing a conversion in most cases so I assume its finding ImageMagick I just need to work out why its creating incomplete images.
There is a log for each image which is reporting no errors.
Someone suggested in might be the host limited CPU and terminating the process.
In the install check for RS I get OK for ImageMagick - Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2016-12-22 Q16 , althou in the MediaTemple documentation It says ImageMagick is not available to php5 and an opendir must be enabled in php.ini so im not sure if its there or not. When I do add the required line opendir it breaks the page.
I have altered php file max and execution times in htaccess
Any ideas what might be happening
I have installed the software in the past on an old provider with no issue but Im trying a number of time on MediaTemple (GRID) and always hit the same wall so finally going to figure out whats going on.
All original Images seem to upload fine and if the images are small it works as expected but if the image is over about 6-7 meg the 3 small versions including thumbnails, are incomplete or missing althogether. Its doing a conversion in most cases so I assume its finding ImageMagick I just need to work out why its creating incomplete images.
There is a log for each image which is reporting no errors.
Someone suggested in might be the host limited CPU and terminating the process.
In the install check for RS I get OK for ImageMagick - Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2016-12-22 Q16 , althou in the MediaTemple documentation It says ImageMagick is not available to php5 and an opendir must be enabled in php.ini so im not sure if its there or not. When I do add the required line opendir it breaks the page.
I have altered php file max and execution times in htaccess
Any ideas what might be happening
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
You may be exceeding your tmp directory space limitations. Also your version of ImageMagick is over 200 versions old. You might consider upgrading it. Also look at
convert -list resource
to see how your IM policy.xml file is limiting you.
convert -list resource
to see how your IM policy.xml file is limiting you.
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
Thanks for the replay, its a shared server so I dont have much control over the version. I might have to go to a more independent solution.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
What do you get from
If it does not work, then your version of IM is too old. You should check with your hosting service to ask them what limitation you have.
Code: Select all
convert -list resource
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
Im pretty ignorest with command line stuff but using a couple of PHP scripts I get:
Version return code is 0
Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2016-12-22 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2012 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP
Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2016-12-22 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2012 ImageMagick Studio LLC Features: OpenMP imagick not installed
Fatal error: Class 'Imagick' not found
Version return code is 0
Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2016-12-22 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2012 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP
Version: ImageMagick 6.7.7-10 2016-12-22 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2012 ImageMagick Studio LLC Features: OpenMP imagick not installed
Fatal error: Class 'Imagick' not found
fmw42 wrote: ↑2017-05-21T16:14:55-07:00 What do you get from
If it does not work, then your version of IM is too old. You should check with your hosting service to ask them what limitation you have.Code: Select all
convert -list resource
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
try
or
or
Which are the two most likely paths to ImageMagick.
Code: Select all
<?php
exec("convert -list resource",$out,$returnval);
foreach($out as $text)
{echo "$text<br>";}
?>
Code: Select all
<?php
exec("/usr/bin/convert -list resource",$out,$returnval);
foreach($out as $text)
{echo "$text<br>";}
?>
or
Code: Select all
<?php
exec("/usr/local/bin/convert -list resource",$out,$returnval);
foreach($out as $text)
{echo "$text<br>";}
?>
Which are the two most likely paths to ImageMagick.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
You should get back something like:
Resource limits:
Width: 214.7MP
Height: 214.7MP
Area: 17.18GP
Memory: 8GiB
Map: 16GiB
Disk: unlimited
File: 192
Thread: 4
Throttle: 0
Time: unlimited
This only tells you how ImageMagick is limited. Your hosting service may have limits in its OS for each user. So you probably should check with your hosting service.
Resource limits:
Width: 214.7MP
Height: 214.7MP
Area: 17.18GP
Memory: 8GiB
Map: 16GiB
Disk: unlimited
File: 192
Thread: 4
Throttle: 0
Time: unlimited
This only tells you how ImageMagick is limited. Your hosting service may have limits in its OS for each user. So you probably should check with your hosting service.
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
if i run all three I get
01
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
02
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
03
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
01
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
02
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
03
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
File Area Memory Map Disk Thread Time
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4500 33.6GB 15.646GiB 31.292GiB unlimited 16 unlimited
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
I don't see anything that would really limit you. I would check with your hosting service about any other limits they are putting on your user account/directory
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
Support send back complicated instructions for installing the PHP5 extenstion for ImageMagicK
I find it odd that smaller images work and larger ones break, I would have thought all would break if the extension was missing?
I find it odd that smaller images work and larger ones break, I would have thought all would break if the extension was missing?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
Perhaps they do not understand your issue or you have not explained it well to them. I would not think you need a new PHP, but perhaps the old one was very limiting.
Re: ResourceSpace Error - server settings?
quite possibly.
I did find someone reporting a similar issues on the google group and I think it turned out to be because his IM was out of date, so if I can work out the SSH instructions and update to custom install of a new version it might fix the issue.
I did find someone reporting a similar issues on the google group and I think it turned out to be because his IM was out of date, so if I can work out the SSH instructions and update to custom install of a new version it might fix the issue.