loop not working?
loop not working?
I have converted the following image with option : -loop 0
but it doesn't seem like it loops at all
https://www.sendspace.com/file/zc2v1q
anybody knows how to fix this please?
Note : i use IM v6
6.8.9.9-5+deb8u6
but it doesn't seem like it loops at all
https://www.sendspace.com/file/zc2v1q
anybody knows how to fix this please?
Note : i use IM v6
6.8.9.9-5+deb8u6
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: loop not working?
Please supply your full command line. It is hard to know if it is a bug or wrong syntax. What is your platform, since syntax may differ. Did you specify a delay? Did you put the delay before reading the input images?
Re: loop not working?
convert file.1.gif -coalesce -crop trimmer[0] +repage -loop 0 file.gif
I don't think a delay is specified, is it required?
how do you specify a delay?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: loop not working?
what is "trimmer[0]"? -crop requires WxH+X+Y arguments
You should not need a -delay, but it is a good idea to put one it. Some viewers do not know how to handle it without a delay.
You should not need a -delay, but it is a good idea to put one it. Some viewers do not know how to handle it without a delay.
Re: loop not working?
just -delay? or does it require an argument?
-delay 0 maybe?
*edit, tested -delay 0 and it didn't make any difference
-delay 0 maybe?
*edit, tested -delay 0 and it didn't make any difference
- GeeMack
- Posts: 718
- Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: Central Illinois, USA
Re: loop not working?
The "-delay" setting requires an argument of the length of delay in 1/100th seconds.You should probably get familiar with the various settings described near the top of THIS page. You'll find a lot of helpful information there.
Re: loop not working?
---
Last edited by coloring on 2017-06-04T19:05:16-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Re: loop not working?
adding the delay makes no differenceGeeMack wrote: ↑2017-05-09T07:00:09-07:00The "-delay" setting requires an argument of the length of delay in 1/100th seconds.You should probably get familiar with the various settings described near the top of THIS page. You'll find a lot of helpful information there.
could there be another reason why the loop isn't working? or is it a bug?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: loop not working?
Please identify your exact command line with actual values, not code with arguments and your input file. Perhaps your code is not getting parsed correctly. Can you provide a simple example command and image that fails, so we can try to reproduce it on your version of ImageMagick.
Re: loop not working?
sample https://www.sendspace.com/file/nz3pkj
source :
0.gif
commands :
convert 0.gif -loop 0 1.gif
convert 0.gif -loop 0 -delay 0 2.gif
the output don't seem to have loop
source :
0.gif
commands :
convert 0.gif -loop 0 1.gif
convert 0.gif -loop 0 -delay 0 2.gif
the output don't seem to have loop
- GeeMack
- Posts: 718
- Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: Central Illinois, USA
Re: loop not working?
Put "-delay 10" before reading in the input, or use "-set delay 10" after. Try one of these...
Code: Select all
convert -delay 10 0.gif -loop 0 1.gif
Code: Select all
convert 0.gif -set delay 10 -loop 0 1.gif
Re: loop not working?
As usual GeeMack is the one true wizard and delivers win and magnificence
\o/ Praise
[ ]
/ \
Re: loop not working?
bad news, this set delay parameter speeds up the gif animation sometimes and this is unwanted
is there another way to fix the loop?
is there another way to fix the loop?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: loop not working?
Just set the longer delay, if it is too quick. The problem is that often viewers do not know how to handle animations without a delay. They can get different delays set by the viewer, so you won't get a consistent looking delay (result) across various viewers. Set the delay to what you want equivalent to what you see on your viewer and it should be consistent as long as the delay is there.
Re: loop not working?
^ I don't process files individually, I need a setting that is functional for every gif, working loop without altering the animation speed
is imagemagick unable to do that?
is imagemagick unable to do that?