Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Antjac
Posts: 4 Joined: 2018-01-03T09:30:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by Antjac » 2018-01-03T09:34:34-07:00
Hi,
I would like to convert some image files to PDF by using convert.exe.
But, I can't fit the picture to a A4 format PDF (picture is always cropped or very smart...)
Actually I use this code :
Code: Select all
convert -density 300 -page A4 mypicture.jpg myfile.pdf
The size of the picture is : 1700 × 2338 pixels
How can I do ?
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2018-01-03T09:57:32-07:00
Either "-crop" or "-extent" your image to make it 1:sqrt(2) format, and use the "-density" setting to make the result A4, which is 297mm x 210mm.
Antjac
Posts: 4 Joined: 2018-01-03T09:30:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by Antjac » 2018-01-04T00:28:04-07:00
Could you give me an example of command syntax ?
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2018-01-04T02:28:43-07:00
Assuming p.png is 1700 × 2338 pixels:
1700 * sqrt(2) is 2404.163056034262, so we'll make the height 2404 pixels.
2404 pixels in 297mm, 29.7 cm, is 80.9428 pixels per centimetre.
Code: Select all
convert p.png -gravity Center -extent 1700x2404 -density 80.9428 -units pixelspercentimeter p.pdf
Antjac
Posts: 4 Joined: 2018-01-03T09:30:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by Antjac » 2018-01-04T02:49:24-07:00
Ok, is there a way to automatically detect the size of the picture and resize to A4 ?
Bonzo
Posts: 2971 Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England
Post
by Bonzo » 2018-01-04T03:25:47-07:00
Ok, is there a way to automatically detect the size of the picture and resize to A4 ?
What version of Imagemagick are you using?
You might be better off writing a script to get and calculate the dimensions and passing the dimensions as variables into the Imagemagick command.
Antjac
Posts: 4 Joined: 2018-01-03T09:30:40-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by Antjac » 2018-01-04T06:23:15-07:00
Actually : 7.0.6 but i can update
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2018-01-04T06:47:52-07:00
With v7, you can use "magick" instead of "convert", and use "%[fx:]" expressions instead of 2404 etc.