Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
briligg
Posts: 32 Joined: 2018-05-28T15:31:02-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by briligg » 2018-05-30T10:41:56-07:00
The libtiff5 library is installed, and the Resource limits are all adjusted to be large enough, but when i run
Code: Select all
convert FileIn.tif -extract 4000x4000+44080+21040 FileOut.tif
I get
Code: Select all
convert-im6.q16: Maximum TIFF file size exceeded. `TIFFAppendToStrip' @ error/tiff.c/TIFFErrors/564.
It converted to a TIFF of much larger dimensions yesterday without problems. Do I have a syntax error or something?
briligg
Posts: 32 Joined: 2018-05-28T15:31:02-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by briligg » 2018-05-30T10:56:48-07:00
When I tried to copy the syntax in the example, IM couldn't read my file names.
Code: Select all
convert -extract 4000x4000+44080+21040 \ Lunar_LRO_LOLA_Global_LDEM_118m_Mar2014.tif LOLA-Center.tif
convert-im6.q16: unable to open image ` Lunar_LRO_LOLA_Global_LDEM_118m_Mar2014.tif': No such file or directory @ error/blob.c/OpenBlob/2701.
convert-im6.q16: no images defined `LOLA-Center.tif' @ error/convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/3258.
briligg
Posts: 32 Joined: 2018-05-28T15:31:02-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by briligg » 2018-05-30T10:58:36-07:00
Oh wait, is there really supposed to be a quotation mark after the output file name?
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2018-05-30T11:08:20-07:00
You have an isolated backslash "\" where IM expects an input filename.
briligg
Posts: 32 Joined: 2018-05-28T15:31:02-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Post
by briligg » 2018-05-30T11:15:20-07:00
Okay. I'm not used to conventions in code examples - there was a backslash in the example, and it didn't seem to me to be any kind of labelling convention, so i included it. I'll fix that, thanks.
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2018-05-30T11:32:10-07:00
alternates are:
Code: Select all
convert FileIn.tif[4000x4000+44080+21040] FileOut.tif
or
Code: Select all
convert FileIn.tif -crop 4000x4000+44080+21040 +repage FileOut.tif
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2018-05-30T11:55:20-07:00
At
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... hp#extract , the backslash is the Unix character meaning that the command is continued on the next line.
Those examples also have a stray double-quote after the output name, and a comma. @Fred: can the quotes and comma be removed, please?
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2018-05-30T12:12:05-07:00
snibgo wrote: @Fred: can the quotes and comma be removed, please?
I will add this to my list of documentation edits and try to get to it later this week.