Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: 2018-10-13T11:56:43-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
I upgrade my Canon camera recently to a 77D and the CR2 files I convert into JPG come out with a purple haze:
The version string is "ImageMagick 6.8.9-9 Q16 i586 2018-10-03" and version number is "1673".
Anyone any ideas? This did not happen with my older 400D.
The version string is "ImageMagick 6.8.9-9 Q16 i586 2018-10-03" and version number is "1673".
Anyone any ideas? This did not happen with my older 400D.
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
What is your platform?
Your version of IM is old. Does an upgrade cure the problem?
Your version of IM is old. Does an upgrade cure the problem?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
Also check your version of JPG
should show (90) for JPG
Code: Select all
convert -list format
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
Have you configured your camera to do white balancing? Are all the settings in the camera recorded in the image file meta data?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: 2018-10-13T11:56:43-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
To answer your questions:
- I use PHP7 as platform in combination with Debian Jessie.
- The output of 'convert -list format' used to show 62.
- All camera settings are recorded in the file meta data. If you want, I can send you the original CR2.
- I manually compiled/installed the latest ImageMagick from source next to the one that came with Debian Jessie. The output of 'convert -list format' now shows 'libjpeg-turbo 1.3.1'. I used 'convert' to generate a JPG from the CR2. Same result.....
- I use PHP7 as platform in combination with Debian Jessie.
- The output of 'convert -list format' used to show 62.
- All camera settings are recorded in the file meta data. If you want, I can send you the original CR2.
- I manually compiled/installed the latest ImageMagick from source next to the one that came with Debian Jessie. The output of 'convert -list format' now shows 'libjpeg-turbo 1.3.1'. I used 'convert' to generate a JPG from the CR2. Same result.....
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
Please post your original CR2. We can test and see if it is a JPG issue or an Imagemagick issue.
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
There may be a white balance problem. IM uses a delegate to read the raw file, and perhaps IM isn't telling the delegate to do white balance from the camera setting, or the delegate can't read the camera WB setting, or the camera isn't recording the WB, or other possibilities.
What delegate does your IM installation use? dcraw or ufraw-batch?
If you link to a sample CR2, we can advise further.
What delegate does your IM installation use? dcraw or ufraw-batch?
If you link to a sample CR2, we can advise further.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: 2018-10-13T11:56:43-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
One of the batch of CR2's: https://www.dropbox.com/s/82nygftlswhu5 ... 0.CR2?dl=0
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
ImageMagick might call dcraw or ufraw-batch as external delegates, or use libraw internally.
Try a convert with "-verbose". If an external delegate is used, IM will show the command used.
"convert -version" or "magick -version" has a line "Delegates (built-in)". If that includes "raw", then it uses libraw. Otherwise, look in delegates.xml. This will have an entry for either "ufraw-batch" or "dcraw". It might not have the option for setting the white balance.
ufraw 0.19.2 gives me a weird result: light purple, with no shadows. Using "Auto WB" (1.030,1,1.030) instead of "Camera WB" (1.914,1,1.506) gives a more neutral hue, but still far too light. Perhaps ufraw is misreading the file.
Versions of IM on my computer that use libraw give a slightly green cast, but otherwise fine.
dcraw gives a good result, eg:
d.tiff has a fairly neutral tone, with good shadows.
Personally, I read raw images with dcraw directly, not via IM because IM doesn't give me the control that I want.
Try a convert with "-verbose". If an external delegate is used, IM will show the command used.
"convert -version" or "magick -version" has a line "Delegates (built-in)". If that includes "raw", then it uses libraw. Otherwise, look in delegates.xml. This will have an entry for either "ufraw-batch" or "dcraw". It might not have the option for setting the white balance.
ufraw 0.19.2 gives me a weird result: light purple, with no shadows. Using "Auto WB" (1.030,1,1.030) instead of "Camera WB" (1.914,1,1.506) gives a more neutral hue, but still far too light. Perhaps ufraw is misreading the file.
Versions of IM on my computer that use libraw give a slightly green cast, but otherwise fine.
dcraw gives a good result, eg:
Code: Select all
%DCRAW% -v -w -6 -T -O d.tiff IMG_6880.CR2
Personally, I read raw images with dcraw directly, not via IM because IM doesn't give me the control that I want.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: 2018-10-13T11:56:43-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
Re: Purple haze when converting CR2 into JPG
Interesting: I tried using dcraw to convert IMG_6880.CR2 using the same command line - except that mine on Debian is version v9.21 and does not support the -O parameter - and the end result is again the same purple haze.....
Upgraded to dcraw 9.28 (latest) and voila, it works. Thanks for the pointer!
Upgraded to dcraw 9.28 (latest) and voila, it works. Thanks for the pointer!