Hi, i use IM Q16 HDRI
when i multiply two HDR (each 32bit/channel) it results in a 8bit image... It's saved in 32bit but pixelx values no more exceed 1.0 . Bright values are all clamped to 1.0
here is my command
magick -gravity center image1.hdr image2.hdr -compose Multiply -composite -define quantum:format=floating-point -depth 32 result.hdr
Thanks for you help
Multiplying 2 HDR Q32 image result in Q8 output
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Multiplying 2 HDR Q32 image result in Q8 output
For compositions, values are first normalized to nominal 0.0 to 1.0, by dividing by QuantumRange, then un-normalized afterwards. For example:
This ensures the result is the same, whatever the Q-number.
Does that explain the problem?
Code: Select all
f:\web\im>%IMG7%magick xc:gray(50%) xc:gray(25%) -compose Multiply -composite txt:
# ImageMagick pixel enumeration: 1,1,65535,srgb
0,0: (8191.88,8191.88,8191.88) #200020002000 srgb(12.5%,12.5%,12.5%)
Does that explain the problem?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Re: Multiplying 2 HDR Q32 image result in Q8 output
if i understand you, you are saying that it shoud works, but i can't see what's wrong with my command :/
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Multiplying 2 HDR Q32 image result in Q8 output
"-composite" will clamp at 0% and 100% unless you include "-define compose:clamp=off".
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Re: Multiplying 2 HDR Q32 image result in Q8 output
oh yeah, it works! You are the boss!
thank you very much
thank you very much