Hello,
I tried to use the +quality option but regardless if I use it without a value or with a value I get the following message:
magick: InvalidArgument '+quality' '(null)' at CLI arg 2 @ error/operation.c/CLISettingOptionInfo/1243.
Is this a bug or is this correct an I'm doing something wrong?
What exactly is the effeect of +quality? My first assumption was it resets the quality setting.
+quality always throws InvalidArgument error
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Why do you think "+quality" is a valid IM option? Is it documented somewhere?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Please, always provide your IM version and platform when asking questions, since syntax may differ.
Also provide your exact command line and your images, if possible.
See the top-most post in this forum "IMPORTANT: Please Read This FIRST Before Posting" at http://www.imagemagick.org/discourse-se ... f=1&t=9620
If using Imagemagick 7, then see http://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php#cli
For novices, see
http://www.imagemagick.org/discourse-se ... f=1&t=9620
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://github.com/ImageMagick/usage-markdown
https://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php#cli
Also provide your exact command line and your images, if possible.
See the top-most post in this forum "IMPORTANT: Please Read This FIRST Before Posting" at http://www.imagemagick.org/discourse-se ... f=1&t=9620
If using Imagemagick 7, then see http://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php#cli
For novices, see
http://www.imagemagick.org/discourse-se ... f=1&t=9620
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://github.com/ImageMagick/usage-markdown
https://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php#cli
- GeeMack
- Posts: 718
- Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: Central Illinois, USA
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
I don't know anything about a "+quality" option, but it does show in the list from this command...
Code: Select all
convert -list command
I could see it being useful in a command like this...
Code: Select all
convert input.png -quality 100 -resize 50% -write output.jpg +quality -resize 50% output.png
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
It's documented, so it should work, so it's a bug.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
I'm using ImageMagick 7.0.8-14-Q16 and the +quality command is contained in the command list:
I noticed something, the following commands are working as expected:
but if I use "magick" instead of "convert" I can easily reproduce the InvalidArgument error:
I also tried out magick-script and got the same error:
So this looks like a bug to me.
and I found it here https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMag ... ion.c#L923. This way I already found out that there is for example a +format and +verbose option which are also not documented on this page https://www.imagemagick.org/script/comm ... ptions.php like +quality.GeeMack wrote: ↑2018-11-27T10:08:26-07:00 I don't know anything about a "+quality" option, but it does show in the list from this command...Code: Select all
convert -list command
I noticed something, the following commands are working as expected:
Code: Select all
convert rose: -quality 100 -write output.jpg +quality output2.jpg
Code: Select all
magick rose: -quality 100 -write output.jpg +quality output2.jpg
magick: InvalidArgument '+quality' '(null)' at CLI arg 6 @ error/operation.c/CLISettingOptionInfo/1243.
Code: Select all
C:\temp\test>magick -script -
rose:
-quality 100
-write output.jpg
+quality
magick: InvalidArgument '+quality' '(null)' in "stdin" at line 4,column 1 @ error/operation.c/CLISettingOptionInfo/1243.
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Thanks for the problem report. We can reproduce it and will have a patch to fix it in GIT master branch @ https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMagick later today. The patch will be available in the beta releases of ImageMagick @ http://www.imagemagick.org/download/beta/ by sometime tomorrow.
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Thank you for looking into this.