Add white border to existing large image
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Add white border to existing large image
Hi
I am using IM version ImageMagick-6.8.5-3 on windows.
source image test.tif (1920 dpi, width - 51840 , height - 115200, bit depth - 1, image size - 711.MB)
set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=d:\temp - 50 GB available in d: drive
i am trying to add border like 8000 pixels to left, right , top and bottom to test,tif image.
i am using the following code to add the border
convert.exe -border 8000x8000 test.tif output.tif
i am getting error while using below code
TIFFWriteDirectoryTagData: IO error writing tag data.
convert.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/824.
convert.exe: unable to extend cache `test.tif': No space left on device @ error/cache.c/OpenPixelCache/3753.
convert.exe: IO error writing tag data. `TIFFWriteDirectoryTagData' @ error/tiff.c/TIFFErrors/562.
But its taking long time to add border. Still need more space in d:\ drive? what is the approximate free space need in d: drive? How can i make it fast?
Kindly do the needful. Many Thanks
I am using IM version ImageMagick-6.8.5-3 on windows.
source image test.tif (1920 dpi, width - 51840 , height - 115200, bit depth - 1, image size - 711.MB)
set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=d:\temp - 50 GB available in d: drive
i am trying to add border like 8000 pixels to left, right , top and bottom to test,tif image.
i am using the following code to add the border
convert.exe -border 8000x8000 test.tif output.tif
i am getting error while using below code
TIFFWriteDirectoryTagData: IO error writing tag data.
convert.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/824.
convert.exe: unable to extend cache `test.tif': No space left on device @ error/cache.c/OpenPixelCache/3753.
convert.exe: IO error writing tag data. `TIFFWriteDirectoryTagData' @ error/tiff.c/TIFFErrors/562.
But its taking long time to add border. Still need more space in d:\ drive? what is the approximate free space need in d: drive? How can i make it fast?
Kindly do the needful. Many Thanks
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Add white border to existing large image
IM v6, assuming Q16 non-HDRI, needs 8 bytes per pixel to read the image, and the same amount to create and populate the new image with the border.
51840 * 115200 * 8 = 48 GB. So you don't have enough memory or disk space.
51840 * 115200 * 8 = 48 GB. So you don't have enough memory or disk space.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Re: Add white border to existing large image
Hi
Thanks for quick response.
So what is the solution for that? Should i use latest IM version? 500 GB free space.
How can i make it fast? it is possible to do the less than 2 minutes (add border).
Many thanks
Thanks for quick response.
So what is the solution for that? Should i use latest IM version? 500 GB free space.
How can i make it fast? it is possible to do the less than 2 minutes (add border).
Many thanks
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Add white border to existing large image
How much free space do you have, 50GB or 500GB? 50GB isn't enough.
IM Q8 will use half the memory.
IM Q8 will use half the memory.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Re: Add white border to existing large image
Hi
My external hard drive has 500GB free space, shall i use that?
Approximately how much time it will take to complete the process(add 8000 pixel in each side to large image (based on above input image)).
Many Thanks.
My external hard drive has 500GB free space, shall i use that?
Approximately how much time it will take to complete the process(add 8000 pixel in each side to large image (based on above input image)).
Many Thanks.
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Re: Add white border to existing large image
Hi
I have downloaded ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q8 64 bit for windows.
set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=d:\temp
magick.exe -border 8000x8000 d:\1920.tif output.tif
magick.exe: no images found for operation `-border' at CLI arg 1 @ error/operation.c/CLIOption/5262.
What is the operation in 7.0.8 version instead of border?
Looking forward your reply.
I have downloaded ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q8 64 bit for windows.
set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=d:\temp
magick.exe -border 8000x8000 d:\1920.tif output.tif
magick.exe: no images found for operation `-border' at CLI arg 1 @ error/operation.c/CLIOption/5262.
What is the operation in 7.0.8 version instead of border?
Looking forward your reply.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Add white border to existing large image
Read the input first, then add the border. Why such a large border? You might also want to specify the bordercolor.
Code: Select all
magick.exe d:\1920.tif -border 8000x8000 output.tif
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Re: Add white border to existing large image
Hi
Thanks for your response
Tried following script.
magick.exe d:\1920.tif -border 8000x8000 output.tif
magick.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/995.
magick.exe: memory allocation failed `d:\1920.tif' @ error/tiff.c/ReadTIFFImage/1800.
magick.exe: no images found for operation `-border' at CLI arg 2 @ error/operation.c/CLIOption/5262.
in d: drive i have 50GB free space.
Thanks for your response
Tried following script.
magick.exe d:\1920.tif -border 8000x8000 output.tif
magick.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/995.
magick.exe: memory allocation failed `d:\1920.tif' @ error/tiff.c/ReadTIFFImage/1800.
magick.exe: no images found for operation `-border' at CLI arg 2 @ error/operation.c/CLIOption/5262.
in d: drive i have 50GB free space.
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: 2015-06-04T07:52:46-07:00
- Authentication code: 6789
Re: Add white border to existing large image
HI
Tried with 355GB free space external hard drive using following script
set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=e:\im - 355GB free space in e: drive
D:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q8>magick.exe d:\1920.tif -border 8000x8000 output.tif
magick.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/995.
magick.exe: memory allocation failed `d:\1920.tif' @ error/tiff.c/ReadTIFFImage/1800.
magick.exe: no images found for operation `-border' at CLI arg 2 @ error/operation.c/CLIOption/5262.
Any solution to fix the issue ?
Looking forward your reply. Anything wrong with my IM script?
Help me.
Tried with 355GB free space external hard drive using following script
set MAGICK_TEMPORARY_PATH=e:\im - 355GB free space in e: drive
D:\Program Files\ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q8>magick.exe d:\1920.tif -border 8000x8000 output.tif
magick.exe: Incompatible type for "RichTIFFIPTC"; tag ignored. `TIFFFetchNormalTag' @ warning/tiff.c/TIFFWarnings/995.
magick.exe: memory allocation failed `d:\1920.tif' @ error/tiff.c/ReadTIFFImage/1800.
magick.exe: no images found for operation `-border' at CLI arg 2 @ error/operation.c/CLIOption/5262.
Any solution to fix the issue ?
Looking forward your reply. Anything wrong with my IM script?
Help me.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Add white border to existing large image
You may be running out of RAM. Also it appears you did not rearrange your command as I suggested. IM 7 requires precise order. You must read the input image before adding a border.
Note that warnings do not hurt. They imply that your TIF file has meta tags that IM does not understand. But if you only have warnings and no errors then your output will be created. You can avoid the warnings by adding -quiet to your command as above.
You have two errors and one warning. The first error
memory allocation failed `d:\1920.tif'
Implies either you did not rearrange the command line or you do not have enough RAM.
Code: Select all
magick.exe -quiet d:\1920.tif -border 8000x8000 output.tif
You have two errors and one warning. The first error
memory allocation failed `d:\1920.tif'
Implies either you did not rearrange the command line or you do not have enough RAM.
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Add white border to existing large image
How much physical memory do you have? Perhaps reading the file takes all your memory, and there is none left for the border operation. Try "-limit memory 1GB -limit map 1GB" at the start of the command.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com