Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
anthony
Posts: 8883 Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post
by anthony » 2006-09-12T00:24:06-07:00
It builds for me on fedora Core 5! I do that almost every day for IM examples.
This is my commands (as root) to build installation RPM's
Code: Select all
rm -rf /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/*/* /usr/src/redhat/{SOURCES,SPECS,BUILD}/*
rpmbuild --nodeps --rebuild ImageMagick-*.src.rpm
cp -p /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/ImageMagick-[6p]*.i386.rpm .
rm -rf /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/*/* /usr/src/redhat/{SOURCES,SPECS,BUILD}/*
The 'rm' command clean the RPM source build area, remove if you like.
I install / update using...
Code: Select all
rpm -Uhv --force --nodeps ImageMagick-*.i386.rpm
anthony
Posts: 8883 Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post
by anthony » 2006-09-12T22:02:57-07:00
check that the permissions on your system are correct. Especially the /tmp directory.
Code: Select all
ls -Flad /tmp
drwxrwxrwt 16 root root 4096 Sep 13 14:32 /tmp/
you also run rpmbuild as root.
anthony
Posts: 8883 Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post
by anthony » 2006-09-17T18:30:07-07:00
The perlmagick modules were probbaly installed in the wrong location.
I in the past needed to move and add symbolic links to map the installed modules into perl include path. the final symbolic link prevents it happening again.
For me this was..
Code: Select all
# IM Perl version fix (once only)
rsync -av /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.7/ /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.6/
rm -r /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.7
ln -s 5.8.6 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.7
Adjust to siut your situation.
The rsync is a directory coping command that is on most linux systems.