Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Hi,
I have two images. I have created a shadow background for one
convert NW20Vq1.png -background black -shadow 80x3+5+5 final.png
This works = final.png has transparancy, but NW20Vq1 does not.
And then i mosaic the two together
convert final.png NW20Vq1.png -background none -mosaic y.png
However, i get the following error
convert: Pixel cache allocation failed `final.png'.
convert: Memory allocation failed 'y.png'
Warning: recursive semaphore lock detected!
If i mosaic two images(pngs) none of them with alpha, the mosaic works.
I'm running Linux, and have installed Imagemagick in my home directory (along with PerlMagick).
This however works on OS/X.
Could someone help me out?
Thanks for your time.
Regards
Saptarshi
I have two images. I have created a shadow background for one
convert NW20Vq1.png -background black -shadow 80x3+5+5 final.png
This works = final.png has transparancy, but NW20Vq1 does not.
And then i mosaic the two together
convert final.png NW20Vq1.png -background none -mosaic y.png
However, i get the following error
convert: Pixel cache allocation failed `final.png'.
convert: Memory allocation failed 'y.png'
Warning: recursive semaphore lock detected!
If i mosaic two images(pngs) none of them with alpha, the mosaic works.
I'm running Linux, and have installed Imagemagick in my home directory (along with PerlMagick).
This however works on OS/X.
Could someone help me out?
Thanks for your time.
Regards
Saptarshi
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Are you just trying to add shadow to an image? If so try this for your second line:
Code: Select all
convert final.png -composite NW20Vq1.png -composite shadow_test.png
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Hi,
Thank you. However that didn't work (probably my mistake) - though it did lead me to the solution.
Suppose final.png is the shadow and NW20Vq1.png is the original png to which i wish to add the shadow.
I tried using your command but i got the error
convert: missing an image filenaname 'shadow_test.png'
I tried
convert -composite NW20Vq1.png -composite final.png shadow_test.png
This ran, but no shadow, i flipped sequence of images but to no avail.
I then tried
composite NW20Vq1.png final.png x.png
and x.png contained the drop shadow.
However, how can i get it to work with convert?
Thank you
Saptarshi
Thank you. However that didn't work (probably my mistake) - though it did lead me to the solution.
Suppose final.png is the shadow and NW20Vq1.png is the original png to which i wish to add the shadow.
I tried using your command but i got the error
convert: missing an image filenaname 'shadow_test.png'
I tried
convert -composite NW20Vq1.png -composite final.png shadow_test.png
This ran, but no shadow, i flipped sequence of images but to no avail.
I then tried
composite NW20Vq1.png final.png x.png
and x.png contained the drop shadow.
However, how can i get it to work with convert?
Thank you
Saptarshi
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
My original image was boots_layer_2.png and I used php to run the code
<?php
// This creates the shadow
exec("convert boots_layer_2.png -background black -shadow 80x3+5+5 final.png ");
// This puts the original image on top of the shadow
exec("convert final.png -composite boots_layer_2.png -composite shadow_test.png");
?>
Output on this page http://www.rubblewebs.co.uk/imagemagick/other.php
<?php
// This creates the shadow
exec("convert boots_layer_2.png -background black -shadow 80x3+5+5 final.png ");
// This puts the original image on top of the shadow
exec("convert final.png -composite boots_layer_2.png -composite shadow_test.png");
?>
Output on this page http://www.rubblewebs.co.uk/imagemagick/other.php
Last edited by Bonzo on 2007-04-09T11:57:31-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Hi,
Thanks again for the code, unfortunately this is my output
I wonder why this is happening
My version of convert is
Version: ImageMagick 6.3.3 04/06/07 Q16 file:///home/sguha/mine/share/doc/ImageMagick-6.3.3/index.html
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2007 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Thanks again for the code, unfortunately this is my output
Code: Select all
convert NW20Vq1.png -background black -shadow 80x3+5+5 final.png
convert final.png -composite NW20Vq1.png -composite shadow_test.png
convert: missing an image filename `shadow_test.png'.
My version of convert is
Version: ImageMagick 6.3.3 04/06/07 Q16 file:///home/sguha/mine/share/doc/ImageMagick-6.3.3/index.html
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2007 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
That is strange !
I am using Version: ImageMagick 6.2.8 06/10/06 Q16
I am afraid that I have no idea apart from give composite a try:
I am using Version: ImageMagick 6.2.8 06/10/06 Q16
I am afraid that I have no idea apart from give composite a try:
Code: Select all
exec("composite final.png NW20Vq1.png shadow_test.png");
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Hi,
I've managed to get it working with composite. Now, my next challenge is to get a thin shadow all arround the image - not a drop shadow as such. Something like iPhoto thumbnail shadows.
Thank you for your time.
Rgds
Saptarshi
I've managed to get it working with composite. Now, my next challenge is to get a thin shadow all arround the image - not a drop shadow as such. Something like iPhoto thumbnail shadows.
Thank you for your time.
Rgds
Saptarshi
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
your original errors sould more like a memory problem, with your commands running out of memory. just how big are the images?
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Hi,
This is on a machine running
2.6.9-42.0.3.ELsmp #1 SMP x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
and 4GB ram (its a Dell, but i forget the model).
Thanks
Saptarshi
Code: Select all
file NW20Vq1.png
NW20Vq1.png: PNG image data, 1268 x 946, 16-bit/color RGB, non-interlaced
2.6.9-42.0.3.ELsmp #1 SMP x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
and 4GB ram (its a Dell, but i forget the model).
Thanks
Saptarshi
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
That does not sound like it should run out of memory. Is it posible to give us a link to the image to try out?
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Re: Mosaic two pngs, one without and one with alpha
Hi.
Unfortunately due to privacy issues I can't share the PNG (its a graph of some data).
However, it works now.... i have no idea why but all is well.
I appreciate everybody's time and effort.
Regards
Saptarshi
Unfortunately due to privacy issues I can't share the PNG (its a graph of some data).
However, it works now.... i have no idea why but all is well.
I appreciate everybody's time and effort.
Regards
Saptarshi