i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url. i think it might have something to do either w/ my imagemagick install or my server configuration, because the command works fine on one of my servers, but not on the other.
here is the command:
convert "http://www.thisisvlad.com/gallery/album ... .sized.jpg" -colorspace RGB -thumbnail "850x550>" "/var/www/html/app/tmp/images/test.jpg"
and i get the error:
convert: missing an image filename `/var/www/html/app/tmp/images/test.jpg'.
any ideas on how to fix it? did i just install imagemagick wrong?
i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
Re: i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
From one of Anthonys replys to a similar problem:
Also I would not have all the " and use relative paths rather than absolute.
Could wget be the problem ?IM did not find a wget delegate to download the URL
Also I would not have all the " and use relative paths rather than absolute.
Code: Select all
convert http://www.thisisvlad.com/gallery/albums/NYC/Guggenheim_7_001.sized.jpg -colorspace RGB -thumbnail 850x550> /var/www/html/app/tmp/images/test.jpg
Re: i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
tried your line of code and it didnt work either. i installed wget earlier today and it didnt seem to help...Bonzo wrote:From one of Anthonys replys to a similar problem:Could wget be the problem ?IM did not find a wget delegate to download the URL
Also I would not have all the " and use relative paths rather than absolute.Code: Select all
convert http://www.thisisvlad.com/gallery/albums/NYC/Guggenheim_7_001.sized.jpg -colorspace RGB -thumbnail 850x550> /var/www/html/app/tmp/images/test.jpg
Re: i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
Oh well so much for those ideas !
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
Are you doing this from PHP? Remember PHP run from the web often runs as a different user and in a different environment. If the convert command or wget is not found on the command path, then it will not work. Take a step back and try to see if you can get just convert to work with a local file. Add 2>&1 to see the errors. There was another post about that recently.
does download the image? Is there any other errors?
What command does work?
does
Code: Select all
wget http://www.thisisvlad.com/gallery/albums/NYC/Guggenheim_7_001.sized.jpg
What command does work?
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Re: i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
anthony wrote:Are you doing this from PHP? Remember PHP run from the web often runs as a different user and in a different environment. If the convert command or wget is not found on the command path, then it will not work. Take a step back and try to see if you can get just convert to work with a local file. Add 2>&1 to see the errors. There was another post about that recently.
doesdownload the image? Is there any other errors?Code: Select all
wget http://www.thisisvlad.com/gallery/albums/NYC/Guggenheim_7_001.sized.jpg
What command does work?
i am doing it from php, but i've tried it from the command line and have the same issue.
wget seems to work fine too.
hrm.
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: i can't seem to run imagemagick commands on an image url.
But convert URL image.png
does not work, right... Hang on it
Check the 'delegate.xml' file on your system
You should see a lines
Maybe there is a build in web get coder....
YEAP I have a coder/html.so file, so IM does direct web get itself. Do you?
Try adding the suggested delegate line to your system delegate.xml OR create a $HOME/magick/delegate.xml of the same style as the system one.
The above delegates entry would be a good fallback, in case the coder module is missing. You could ask Cristy to add it for the next beta release.
Enteries could be added for 'curl' program and a fallback 'ftp:' entry too.
does not work, right... Hang on it
Check the 'delegate.xml' file on your system
You should see a lines
Hmmm, prehaps there should also be a line...<delegate decode="https" command='"wget" -q -O "%o" "https:%M"' />
But my delegates does not have it, and it works fine on my system.<delegate decode="http" command='"wget" -q -O "%o" "http:%M"' />
Maybe there is a build in web get coder....
YEAP I have a coder/html.so file, so IM does direct web get itself. Do you?
Try adding the suggested delegate line to your system delegate.xml OR create a $HOME/magick/delegate.xml of the same style as the system one.
The above delegates entry would be a good fallback, in case the coder module is missing. You could ask Cristy to add it for the next beta release.
Enteries could be added for 'curl' program and a fallback 'ftp:' entry too.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/