Convert errors

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
mcsdguy

Convert errors

Post by mcsdguy »

Hi I have never posted here and have not coded with imagemagick. I am using it with a gallery management software and it has stopped working. i am not sure if it has to do with any new updates or not. My host says its the software and the software developer says its host. I hope someone can shed some light on the problem.

The program returns the following for the host to run in SSH if theres a problem.

/usr/local/bin/convert -filter Blackman -modulate 105,102,100 -enhance -quality 85 -sharpen 1x1 "*" -geometry 100x75 "/usr/local/apache/sites/client7865/MYSITE.com/htdocs/v2/g/landscape.jpg" "/usr/local/apache/sites/client7865/MYSITE.com/htdocs/v2/data/temp/test.jpg"

What the host returns is the following when they run the above.

sh: html2ps: command not found
sh: html2ps: command not found
convert: Delegate failed `"html2ps" -U -o "%o" "%i"'.
convert: unable to open image `/tmp/magick-XXOyscx2': No such file or directory.
convert: unable to open file `/tmp/magick-XXOyscx2': No such file or directory.
convert: Delegate failed `"html2ps" -U -o "%o" "%i"'.
convert: unable to open image `/tmp/magick-XXr2aClx': No such file or directory.
convert: unable to open file `/tmp/magick-XXr2aClx': No such file or directory.

Does this mean anything and can anyone help me determine where the error stems from.

Thanks
Ian
el_supremo
Posts: 1015
Joined: 2005-03-21T21:16:57-07:00

Re: Convert errors

Post by el_supremo »

My guess is that "*" is being expanded into the name of every file in the directory and one or more of those files is .html or .htm
When convert sees an HTML file, it calls html2ps to convert it to a .ps file.

Pete
mcsdguy

Re: Convert errors

Post by mcsdguy »

Thanks but where would I look to fine that is that the tmp directory listed in the error message or a directory from which it is getting the image to convert. If it is the Image to convert the is no HTML file in that directory.

thanks
Ian
el_supremo
Posts: 1015
Joined: 2005-03-21T21:16:57-07:00

Re: Convert errors

Post by el_supremo »

If it is the Image to convert the is no HTML file in that directory
If you're sure there's no HTML files in the same directory as the input image(s) then I have no idea what the problem is. Perhaps someone else can help.
Sorry.

Pete
mcsdguy

Re: Convert errors

Post by mcsdguy »

Yeah I was hoping that was the problem, but I double check both directories the "b" and the "temp but no luck ""/usr/local/apache/sites/client7865/MYSITE.com/htdocs/v2/g/landscape.jpg" "/usr/local/apache/sites/client7865/MYSITE.com/htdocs/v2/data/temp/test.jpg"

thanks for the help I appreciate it

Ian
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: Convert errors

Post by Bonzo »

html2ps is a html to postscript converter and I would either say its not installed or the path is incorrect. I do not know how to check for that.

Do you know what version of IM you were using before it stopped working ? The hosts may have done an upgrade.

Have you tried a simple piece of code where you input the exact path to the file etc. to prove the code will work with the minimum amount of variables?

Out of interest you should read the image in as the first thing after convert.

You can find some examples on how to find info on your setup using php on my site: http://www.rubblewebs.co.uk/imagemagick/server/server.

This should display most of your setup details:

Code: Select all

<?php
// Build the array of items to be used
exec("convert convert -list list", $IMarray, $code);
// Start the loop to find and display the results
foreach ($IMarray as $value) {
echo "<br>system (\"convert -list $value\")";
echo "<pre>";
system("convert -list $value");
echo "</pre><hr>";
}
?>
Post Reply