If I change the fill color to red, the background is transparent and the text is red.
If I change the fill color to white, the background is black and the text is transparent!
convert -size 150x150 xc:none -fill "white" -pointsize 50 -draw "text 10,125 'text'" text.gif
convert --version
Version: ImageMagick 6.4.2 07/08/08 Q16 OpenMP http://www.imagemagick.org
edit: im built from srpm on centos x86_64
Transparency bug? or am I doing something wrong?
Transparency bug? or am I doing something wrong?
Last edited by dognose on 2008-07-09T14:26:11-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Transparency bug? or am I doing something wrong?
Command prompt, windows XP, version 6.4.0 - I get some white text on a transparent background using your code.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Transparency bug? or am I doing something wrong?
It works fine for me if you use png for your output --- i get a transparent image with white text. But with gif, it does not work well --- I get a black image with transparent text.
Gif is not that great for transparency. Use PNG. Not sure why it does not work for gif, but png is more consistent
see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/formats/#boolean_trans
Gif is not that great for transparency. Use PNG. Not sure why it does not work for gif, but png is more consistent
see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/formats/#boolean_trans
Re: Transparency bug? or am I doing something wrong?
because it doesn't work in all versions of ie with out a hack.. because png doesn't support animations. gif it is.
This bug doesn't seem to show up in my earlier 6.3.8 version.
This bug doesn't seem to show up in my earlier 6.3.8 version.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Transparency bug? or am I doing something wrong?
repost a link to this posting on the Bugs forum, then and see what they reply
even the following does not work with gif, now.
convert -size 150x150 xc:black \
-fill "white" -pointsize 50 \
-draw "text 10,125 'text'" -transparent black text.gif
and if one then does
convert text.gif -verbose info:
one gets from the histogram:
2: (239,239,239, 0) #EFEFEF rgba(239,239,239,1)
2: (240,240,240, 0) #F0F0F0 grey94
2: (243,243,243, 0) #F3F3F3 rgba(243,243,243,1)
2: (249,249,249, 0) #F9F9F9 rgba(249,249,249,1)
1: ( 0, 0, 0,255) #00000000 none
1: ( 4, 4, 4, 0) #040404 rgba(4,4,4,1)
1: ( 11, 11, 11, 0) #0B0B0B rgba(11,11,11,1)
1: ( 12, 12, 12, 0) #0C0C0C rgba(12,12,12,1)
1: ( 13, 13, 13, 0) #0D0D0D grey5
I thought the alpha channel was supposed to have values 0 to 1 not 0 to 255
In fact the color values on the left have just the opposite alpha value as on the right for all the histogram values.
According to http://imagemagick.org/script/color.php alpha should be 0 for transparent and 1 for opaque.
So I would have to think this is a bug (unless I misunderstand something here).
Also note from http://imagemagick.org/script/color.php at the very bottom of the page:
none none rgba( 0, 0, 0, 1.0) #00000000
transparent transparent rgba( 0, 0, 0, 1.0) #00000000
The rgba values for alpha should be 0 not 1. (Documentation error)
Fred
even the following does not work with gif, now.
convert -size 150x150 xc:black \
-fill "white" -pointsize 50 \
-draw "text 10,125 'text'" -transparent black text.gif
and if one then does
convert text.gif -verbose info:
one gets from the histogram:
2: (239,239,239, 0) #EFEFEF rgba(239,239,239,1)
2: (240,240,240, 0) #F0F0F0 grey94
2: (243,243,243, 0) #F3F3F3 rgba(243,243,243,1)
2: (249,249,249, 0) #F9F9F9 rgba(249,249,249,1)
1: ( 0, 0, 0,255) #00000000 none
1: ( 4, 4, 4, 0) #040404 rgba(4,4,4,1)
1: ( 11, 11, 11, 0) #0B0B0B rgba(11,11,11,1)
1: ( 12, 12, 12, 0) #0C0C0C rgba(12,12,12,1)
1: ( 13, 13, 13, 0) #0D0D0D grey5
I thought the alpha channel was supposed to have values 0 to 1 not 0 to 255
In fact the color values on the left have just the opposite alpha value as on the right for all the histogram values.
According to http://imagemagick.org/script/color.php alpha should be 0 for transparent and 1 for opaque.
Thus all the alpha values on the left side are wrong. They should generally be 1 and the "none" should be 0."... whereas, alpha values range from 0.0 (fully transparent) to 1.0 (fully opaque)"
So I would have to think this is a bug (unless I misunderstand something here).
Also note from http://imagemagick.org/script/color.php at the very bottom of the page:
none none rgba( 0, 0, 0, 1.0) #00000000
transparent transparent rgba( 0, 0, 0, 1.0) #00000000
The rgba values for alpha should be 0 not 1. (Documentation error)
Fred