Hi,
i have some backgrounds (4:3) I'd like to resize so they fit my 16:9 screen.
I'm aware that a stretch might look silly on some pictures - but that's not relevant for those backgrounds, i checked with Gimp. (But want to automate for the pure number of backgrounds)
How do I resize with convert changing the aspect ratio?
-resize -size didn't work out in my tests.
ItsMee
convert image from 4:3 -> 16:9
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: convert image from 4:3 -> 16:9
ItsMee wrote:Hi,
i have some backgrounds (4:3) I'd like to resize so they fit my 16:9 screen.
I'm aware that a stretch might look silly on some pictures - but that's not relevant for those backgrounds, i checked with Gimp. (But want to automate for the pure number of backgrounds)
How do I resize with convert changing the aspect ratio?
-resize -size didn't work out in my tests.
ItsMee
If you know the exact sizes in pixels you want (your screen resolution will tell you that, e.g. 1024x768, etc), then
convert image.jpg -resize WIDTHxHEIGHT! image_resized.jpg
Width=desired screen width in pixels
Height=desired screen height in pixels
Or you can use percent.
NOTE the exclamation mark ! is what forces the resize to the exact pixels and does not preserve aspect ratio. See
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... php#resize
Depending upon your system (Windows, Mac, Linux) you may need to escape the exclamation or put quotes around 'WIDTHxHEIGHT!'. On Mac and Linux, the escape is \ and on Windows the escape is ^, I think.
Last edited by fmw42 on 2008-12-14T17:11:17-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Re: convert image from 4:3 -> 16:9
Man, I've been searching for more than an hour - 5 min in this forum & now the answer!
Great - i tried & it works out.
Thanks!
Great - i tried & it works out.
Thanks!
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: convert image from 4:3 -> 16:9
Best to get familiar with :ItsMee wrote:Man, I've been searching for more than an hour - 5 min in this forum & now the answer!
Great - i tried & it works out.
Thanks!
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... ptions.php
and
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/