Hi, I am really green at this, so please be patient.
I am trying to set up a webcam, and have the camera, software and computer working ok. But I was following the example of another webcam site where they use ImageMagick command line (Convert) commands to shrink the main picture down to several smaller versions. I have the script from that site, but I can't get the commands to work -- I just get error messages.
I downloaded and installed the "Windows Binary Release", ImageMagick-6.4.8-6-Q16-windows-dll.exe on my Vista laptop, so now I have all 40 Mb under C:\Program Files\ImageMagick.
The website says: To verify ImageMagick is working properly, type the following in an MS-DOS Command Prompt window:
convert logo: logo.gif
identify logo.gif
imdisplay logo.gif
But I get errors like: Invalid Parameter - logo.gif
So I hope someone can help me out. Did I download and install the wrong thing? Is there a smaller size installation if I just want to use the convert command line commands? ...or is there a better tool to do what I need.
Reading the documentation on-line, it appears I am really a fish out of water. I will certainly appreciate any help.
Installation on Vista
-
- Posts: 1015
- Joined: 2005-03-21T21:16:57-07:00
Re: Installation on Vista
Windows also has a convert command and that is probably what is actually being executed.
I get around it by renaming the ImageMagick convert to imconvert.exe and then use:
imconvert logo: logo.gif
Pete
I get around it by renaming the ImageMagick convert to imconvert.exe and then use:
imconvert logo: logo.gif
Pete
Sorry, my ISP shutdown all personal webspace so my MagickWand Examples in C is offline.
See my message in this topic for a link to a zip of all the files.
See my message in this topic for a link to a zip of all the files.
Re: Installation on Vista
Ah! That helps. Thanks.
I copied the convert.exe file to one named imconvert.exe. Then opening a cmd.exe window, I changed directory to C:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images. I set the path to C:\Program Files\ImageMagick and then tried the above commands. But there is still trouble:
c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images> imconvert logo: logo.gif
imconvert: unable to open image `logo.gif': No such file or directory @ blob.c/OpenBlob/2411.
c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images> imconvert logo: logo.jpg
imconvert: unable to open image `logo.jpg': No such file or directory @ blob.c/OpenBlob/2411.
c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images> dir logo*.*
Directory of c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images
08/25/2007 07:19 PM 20,337 logo.jpg
There is no logo.gif file, but there IS logo.jpg. The other two commands, identify and imdisplay, work if I use logo.jpg as the file name.
What happened to logo.gif?
Thanks.
I copied the convert.exe file to one named imconvert.exe. Then opening a cmd.exe window, I changed directory to C:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images. I set the path to C:\Program Files\ImageMagick and then tried the above commands. But there is still trouble:
c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images> imconvert logo: logo.gif
imconvert: unable to open image `logo.gif': No such file or directory @ blob.c/OpenBlob/2411.
c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images> imconvert logo: logo.jpg
imconvert: unable to open image `logo.jpg': No such file or directory @ blob.c/OpenBlob/2411.
c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images> dir logo*.*
Directory of c:\Program Files\ImageMagick\images
08/25/2007 07:19 PM 20,337 logo.jpg
There is no logo.gif file, but there IS logo.jpg. The other two commands, identify and imdisplay, work if I use logo.jpg as the file name.
What happened to logo.gif?
Thanks.
-
- Posts: 1015
- Joined: 2005-03-21T21:16:57-07:00
Re: Installation on Vista
At the moment I can't see what's wrong with what you did.
I can only suggest that you try those commands from the c:\Program Files\ImageMagick directory.
Pete
I can only suggest that you try those commands from the c:\Program Files\ImageMagick directory.
Pete
Sorry, my ISP shutdown all personal webspace so my MagickWand Examples in C is offline.
See my message in this topic for a link to a zip of all the files.
See my message in this topic for a link to a zip of all the files.
Re: Installation on Vista
I tried that with same file not found error message.el_supremo wrote:I can only suggest that you try those commands from the c:\Program Files\ImageMagick directory.
I used a search utility, and the only "logo" file in that directory tree is logo.jpg
I don't know if anyone tries to keep the documentation on the site up to date, but maybe that should be changed.
Thanks for your help, Pete.
-
- Posts: 1015
- Joined: 2005-03-21T21:16:57-07:00
Re: Installation on Vista
The logo.jpg image was already in the images subdirectory as part of the distribution.
The "logo:" image is built in to IM and because of that the first convert command "cannot" fail. It is just converting an internal image to a gif or jpg.
At a DOS prompt try the commands:
and post the output here.
And to answer one of your original questions, if you're going to use IM with a webcam you don't need the precision that you'd get from the Q16 DLL version of IM. I would uninstall it and install the Q8 DLL version.
Pete
The "logo:" image is built in to IM and because of that the first convert command "cannot" fail. It is just converting an internal image to a gif or jpg.
At a DOS prompt try the commands:
Code: Select all
identify -version
identify -list configure
And to answer one of your original questions, if you're going to use IM with a webcam you don't need the precision that you'd get from the Q16 DLL version of IM. I would uninstall it and install the Q8 DLL version.
Pete
Sorry, my ISP shutdown all personal webspace so my MagickWand Examples in C is offline.
See my message in this topic for a link to a zip of all the files.
See my message in this topic for a link to a zip of all the files.