convert: missing an image filename
convert: missing an image filename
Hello!
I'm quite new to ImageMagick and experience a problem resizing images on Mac OS10.5.
Strange thing is, that it worked before and i dont know why it doesnt anymore. This is what i do:
opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert -resize 50x50 06.jpg test.jpg
and this is, what ImageMagick tells me:
convert: missing an image filename `test.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2766.
Does anyone have an idea?
And, something else: what do i have to do, that i dont have to type
"opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert..." but only "convert..."?
thanks in advance, flo
I'm quite new to ImageMagick and experience a problem resizing images on Mac OS10.5.
Strange thing is, that it worked before and i dont know why it doesnt anymore. This is what i do:
opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert -resize 50x50 06.jpg test.jpg
and this is, what ImageMagick tells me:
convert: missing an image filename `test.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2766.
Does anyone have an idea?
And, something else: what do i have to do, that i dont have to type
"opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert..." but only "convert..."?
thanks in advance, flo
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: convert: missing an image filename
You are using old syntaxflocci wrote:Hello!
I'm quite new to ImageMagick and experience a problem resizing images on Mac OS10.5.
Strange thing is, that it worked before and i dont know why it doesnt anymore. This is what i do:
opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert -resize 50x50 06.jpg test.jpg
and this is, what ImageMagick tells me:
convert: missing an image filename `test.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2766.
Does anyone have an idea?
And, something else: what do i have to do, that i dont have to type
"opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert..." but only "convert..."?
thanks in advance, flo
convert inputimage -resize 50x50 outputimage
see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/#cmdline
Your path is rather strange also with "6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16c". You should be able to just issue the convert command from your home directory, if you have configure IM correctly and presuming your images are in that directory. Otherwise from your home directory issue the convert command and then provide the path to your images rather than the full path to IM.
convert pathtoinput/inputimage -resize 50x50 pathtooutput/outputimage
Re: convert: missing an image filename
Thank you!
but it still doesnt work:
the input in home Dirctory "convert 'Desktop/convert/06.jpg' -resize 50x50 'Desktop/convert/06a.jpg'"
(06a.jpg should be created)
results in "convert: missing an image filename `Desktop/convert/06a.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2766."
hm..
flo
but it still doesnt work:
the input in home Dirctory "convert 'Desktop/convert/06.jpg' -resize 50x50 'Desktop/convert/06a.jpg'"
(06a.jpg should be created)
results in "convert: missing an image filename `Desktop/convert/06a.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2766."
hm..
flo
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: convert: missing an image filename
flocci wrote:Thank you!
but it still doesnt work:
the input in home Dirctory "convert 'Desktop/convert/06.jpg' -resize 50x50 'Desktop/convert/06a.jpg'"
(06a.jpg should be created)
results in "convert: missing an image filename `Desktop/convert/06a.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageCommand/2766."
hm..
flo
Do you really have a directory called "convert"? Is that your home directory? Does the directory where you have your images have all the right read/write permissions?
Why are you putting single quotes around the path to your files?
On my system, IM commands like convert are installed in /usr/local/bin
To convert an image in my home directory /Users/fred, all I do is cd to /Users/fred and issue:
convert inputimage -resize 50x50% outputimage
For example, using the rose: IM internal image
convert rose: -resize 50x50% rose_small.jpg
Beyond this, I cannot help further. You will need some unix guru to help. Hopefully Magick or Anthony can help further.
Re: convert: missing an image filename
We will apply a patch to ImageMagick 6.5.2-5 Beta that reports a more descriptive exception message for corrupt JPEG images. Thanks.
Re: convert: missing an image filename
This problem seams to be general in the new ImageMagick version.
I 'googled' for 'convert: missing an image filename' and Google found 8570 matches for the last month.
I wanted to upgrade to an new version, because I upgraded the OS too.
Fortunately I also upgraded the hardware so I could compare to a five year old similar setup.
The new version is 6.2.4 02/10/07 Q16 on Debian installed by 'apt-get'.
The problem seams to be not related to the images in want to convert.
On the old hardware I've 5.5.7 09/23/03 installed. This version converts the same images just fine.
The new version converts nothing - also not the old images.
Suggestions:
(1) The latest version has a bug. I try to install a very old version. Where do I get this...?
(2) If the developers do not have that bug: Are libraries missing in the distribution or configuration settings wrong?
mh...
Try to get some older versions.
I 'googled' for 'convert: missing an image filename' and Google found 8570 matches for the last month.
I wanted to upgrade to an new version, because I upgraded the OS too.
Fortunately I also upgraded the hardware so I could compare to a five year old similar setup.
The new version is 6.2.4 02/10/07 Q16 on Debian installed by 'apt-get'.
The problem seams to be not related to the images in want to convert.
On the old hardware I've 5.5.7 09/23/03 installed. This version converts the same images just fine.
The new version converts nothing - also not the old images.
Suggestions:
(1) The latest version has a bug. I try to install a very old version. Where do I get this...?
(2) If the developers do not have that bug: Are libraries missing in the distribution or configuration settings wrong?
mh...
Try to get some older versions.
Last edited by stefan on 2009-06-19T06:57:57-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Re: convert: missing an image filename
Update:
I tried the following:
> touch gaga.jpg
> convert gaga.jpg gaga.tif
Message on version 6.2.4: "convert: missing an image filename 'gaga.tif'."
Message on version 5.5.7: "convert: Empty input file (gaga.jpg)."
May be the input is the problem but the output is reported.
I tried the following:
> touch gaga.jpg
> convert gaga.jpg gaga.tif
Message on version 6.2.4: "convert: missing an image filename 'gaga.tif'."
Message on version 5.5.7: "convert: Empty input file (gaga.jpg)."
May be the input is the problem but the output is reported.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: convert: missing an image filename
do you have the tif delegate library installed?
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: convert: missing an image filename
Considering your very very long path I would ay you have multiple IM's installed.flocci wrote: opt/local/var/macports/software/ImageMagick/6.4.9-1_0+no_x11+q16/opt/local/bin/convert -resize 50x50 06.jpg test.jpg
You not only have to have the RIGHT command, but also the RIGHT library.
this is usually does by setting the library path. For Macs that is controled by the variable
DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
However on some builds it may also be controled by a special MAGICK_HOME evnironment variable.
Run the command
ldd {path_to_your}/convert
and make sure the right libraries (MagickCore, and MagickWand) is being loaded by the convert command.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Re: convert: missing an image filename
I found this problem also happens unicode appears at command line,like Chinese:
E:\n78\新建文件夹>imconvert "E:\n78\新建文件夹\27092009189.jpg" -resize 1024 "1024_27092
009189.jpg"
imconvert: missing an image filename `1024_27092009189.jpg' @ convert.c/ConvertImageComm
and/2822.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: convert: missing an image filename
check if you have the jpg delegate library installed
convert -list configure
look at line starting with DELEGATES. If no jpeg, the install the delegate library libjpg.
see http://www.imagemagick.org/download/delegates/
convert -list configure
look at line starting with DELEGATES. If no jpeg, the install the delegate library libjpg.
see http://www.imagemagick.org/download/delegates/
Re: convert: missing an image filename
SOLUTION: In case anyone runs into this thread that is looking for a resolution to the ImageMagick problem, I found a method that works and made it my first blog entry: http://hallsoftech.blogspot.com/2011/07 ... image.html