Hi,
I'have to convert EPS and TIF images for an application.
At the moment it works so:
EPS -> (with gs) PNG -> (with Image:Magick) GIF
It's the same way if the input image is an TIF.
I knew that I always have a lost of quality if I convert an image, but it is necessary for the next Steps in the Framework. We need Gif images.
What is the line of least quality loss to convert EPS / TIF images to GIF?
Which parameters can I use? Or is there any chance to get an GIF without the PNG step? -> EPS -> GIF?
Convert an EPS,TIF to GIF with a minimum loss of quality
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 2009-05-13T01:28:22-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675309
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Convert an EPS,TIF to GIF with a minimum loss of quality
I am not an expert of eps format, but see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/formats/#eps
have you tried just using
convert image.eps image.gif
or supersampling
convert -density 400 image.eps -resize 25% image.gif
have you tried just using
convert image.eps image.gif
or supersampling
convert -density 400 image.eps -resize 25% image.gif
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 2009-05-13T01:28:22-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675309
Re: Convert an EPS,TIF to GIF with a minimum loss of quality
Thanks for your link!
At the moment I haven't time to read it, but I think I can do it at the afternoon.
I used:
and if you use
I've seen it does internally the same as I did.
EPS ->(with gs to) -> PNG -> (image magick) -> convert foo.png bar.gif
I have the additional problem that delivers the wrong values for DPI. Which I need to use gs correct.
What does
At the moment I haven't time to read it, but I think I can do it at the afternoon.
I used:
Code: Select all
convert image.eps image.gif
Code: Select all
convert -verbose image.eps image.gif
EPS ->(with gs to) -> PNG -> (image magick) -> convert foo.png bar.gif
I have the additional problem that
Code: Select all
identify -format "%x %y" my.eps
What does
Code: Select all
-density 400
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Convert an EPS,TIF to GIF with a minimum loss of quality
see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/escape.php
if
identify -format "%x %y" my.eps
gives the wrong values, then post a bug report with your eps file.
-density 400 will set the density of the image to 400
My note above is a supersampling technique, that is slow, but expands the density by 400x then resizes by 25% to compensate. Sometimes that gives better quality.
if
identify -format "%x %y" my.eps
gives the wrong values, then post a bug report with your eps file.
-density 400 will set the density of the image to 400
My note above is a supersampling technique, that is slow, but expands the density by 400x then resizes by 25% to compensate. Sometimes that gives better quality.
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: Convert an EPS,TIF to GIF with a minimum loss of quality
EPS files are vecotr images, which typically have no default DENSITY setting!MrsCalahan wrote:I have the additional problem thatdelivers the wrong values for DPI. Which I need to use gs correct.Code: Select all
identify -format "%x %y" my.eps
Vector images unlike raster images are draw and will draw generally at ANY density or resolution.
That is what they are used for!
Of course a raster image embedded in a vector image will have a particular density, but the vector image format will hide the 'ideal' density for the raster data from the user.
That is the facts, and also the problem when you want to later recover raster images from vector files.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 2009-05-13T01:28:22-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675309
Re: Convert an EPS,TIF to GIF with a minimum loss of quality
Hi,fmw42 wrote: if
identify -format "%x %y" my.eps
gives the wrong values, then post a bug report with your eps file.
I've seen that the newer version (8.64) of GS doesn't have this problem any longer. Version 8.62. delivered the wrong values if I use the same picture.
So I use the newer version an everything is fine.