Newbie question:how to get started in php

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
drmarie
Posts: 11
Joined: 2010-09-05T10:47:30-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Newbie question:how to get started in php

Post by drmarie »

This is likely a dumb question, but I cannot figure out how to launch ImageMagick via a php script. My host tells me IM is available in /usr/bin

This is what I am trying:

Code: Select all

<?php
$cmd = '/usr/bin/convert "/images/rainbow.jpg"  -colorspace Gray   "/images/gray_rainbow.jpg"';
exec($cmd);


?>
But it does not create gray_rainbow.jpg

What am I doing wrong?
drmarie
Posts: 11
Joined: 2010-09-05T10:47:30-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Newbie question:how to get started in php

Post by drmarie »

I think I figured it out...I'll post it in case it helps anyone else. This is the code I used:

Code: Select all

<?php
$test_directory = 'temp_images';
$command = "convert $test_directory/rainbow1.jpg -colorspace Gray  $test_directory/rainbow3.jpg";
$test_image = system($command, $returnVal);
if ($returnVal > 1) echo "ERROR";
else echo "<img src=\"$test_directory/rainbow3.jpg\">"; 
?>
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Newbie question:how to get started in php

Post by fmw42 »

try this to verify if your IM convert is at /usr/local/bin or /usr/bin and to see what version of IM your ISP is using

<?php
exec("/usr/local/bin/convert -version",$out,$returnval);
print_r($out[0]);
?>

or

<?php
exec("which convert",$out,$returnval);
print_r($out[0]);
?>
Post Reply