Problem with multiple Text blurring

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Cristian
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-01-24T03:02:07-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Problem with multiple Text blurring

Post by Cristian »

My Problem:
I want to generate an Image with 3 Layers
Layer One is a background-image oder color. (Background)
Layer Two is an annotate Text with font. (Shadow of Layer Three)
Layer Three is also an annotate Text with font. (Text)

Now i want to blur single Layers by using the Example from anthony (see link)
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9841&p=30648&hilit=blur+query

but it don't works (Imagemagick Version 6.6.7). The Sublayer are blurred like the parent Layer.

Code: Select all

convert -size 446x96 -channel RGBA \
\( xc:transparent gradient:#FFFF00FF-#FF0000FF -bordercolor #000000FF -border 2 -blur 0x0 \) \ 
\( xc:transparent -font PATHTOFONT\BaroqueScript.ttf -pointsize 40 -gravity NorthWest -kerning 0 -stroke #FF660060 -strokewidth 1 \ 
-fill #00000060 -annotate +15+15 "Home" -blur 3x3 \) \ 
\( xc:transparent -font PATHTOFONT\BaroqueScript.ttf -pointsize 40 -gravity NorthWest -kerning 1 -stroke #000000 -strokewidth 1 \ 
-tile gradient:#FF0000-#FFFF00 -annotate +4+4 "Home" -blur 0x0 \) \ 
-flatten PATHTOIMG\output.png 
How can I get a single Layer blurred?
Can somebody tell me what i'm doing wrong...
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Problem with multiple Text blurring

Post by anthony »

In your first parenthesis, you did you create two background layers? gradient: generates a second image.
'#' should be in quotes or backslash as normally shell considered it the start of a comment!
Also some extra space after the end of line '\' seems to be present.

After correcting those (and substituting a font I do have) everything seemed to work fine!

Code: Select all

convert -size 200x96 -channel RGBA -font Candice -pointsize 70 -strokewidth 1 -stroke black -gravity NorthWest \
       \( gradient:yellow-red -bordercolor black -border 2 \) \
       \( xc:transparent -stroke \#FF660060 -fill \#00000060 -annotate +15+15 "Home" -blur 3x3 \) \
       \( xc:transparent -stroke black -tile gradient:red-yellow -annotate +4+4 "Home" \) 
       -flatten hello.png
Quite a warm looking sign.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Cristian
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-01-24T03:02:07-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Problem with multiple Text blurring

Post by Cristian »

First of all thx for your answer...

Unfortunately your example produces the same result on my server.
The shadow and Background and Border stay blurred...

Could it be that this an Issue in the IM Version 6.6.7?

More Information
IIS-Server (Windows), Script Coldfusion, Execution-mehtod Java Runtime (not cfexecute)
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Problem with multiple Text blurring

Post by anthony »

Could it be the command syntax for windows (DOS). Backslash is UNIX-centric handling. Windows/DOS like using 'hats' instead.
See http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/windows/
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Cristian
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-01-24T03:02:07-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Problem with multiple Text blurring

Post by Cristian »

Thx alot anthony, you did it again... :D

It was a Dos Problem...

The Problem was the Backslash by the end of the Line and in Parenthesis.
The Hats ^ Solved the problem with blurring.

Thank you very much for your support
Post Reply