Problem converting PDF to Jpeg

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
sam_rh
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-08-28T05:59:34-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Problem converting PDF to Jpeg

Post by sam_rh »

I am trying to convert this Vector PDF to a raster image (GIF and/or JPG)
http://u1.realtyhub.com.au/jobs/1059/fl ... s/4398.pdf

The output image looks like this

http://u1.realtyhub.com.au/jobs/1059/fl ... s/4399.jpg
(link to smaller file size if the other image is too large) http://u1.realtyhub.com.au/jobs/1059/fl ... s/4400.jpg

See how some of the textures play up (The checker pattern, and the some of the other patterns, the lines don’t seem so accurate)

Im using PHP, code something like this
$im = new Imagick();
$im->setResolution( 300, 300 );
$im->readImage( $srcFile );
$im->setImageFileName( $outFile );
$im->writeImage();

Version - ImageMagick 6.4.8

I experimenting a bit but could not get it looking any better.
Thanks.
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Problem converting PDF to Jpeg

Post by magick »

Set your resolution to 1200 and then resize to 25%.
sam_rh
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-08-28T05:59:34-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Problem converting PDF to Jpeg

Post by sam_rh »

Thanks for the suggestion.

The checker pattern still played up in the same way. (Some of the other textures may have improved a little).
Any other ideas?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Problem converting PDF to Jpeg

Post by magick »

Upgrade your release of Ghostscript. We're using Ghostscript 9.02 and the results are much improved over your rendering.
sam_rh
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-08-28T05:59:34-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Problem converting PDF to Jpeg

Post by sam_rh »

I only just got my version of ghost script upgraded, everthing seems to be working fine now. Thanks for the tips.
Post Reply