How do I get "-selective-blur" to work faster?
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 2011-07-03T04:02:30-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
How do I get "-selective-blur" to work faster?
How do I get "-selective-blur" and "gaussian-blur" to work faster? May by configure imagemagick, some options ?
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: How do I get "-selective-blur" to work faster?
Only possibility is to compile IM in Q8 format so that less memory is needed, but I am not sure that will help. There may be some other memory options that might help, but I am not an expert on those.
- anthony
- Posts: 8883
- Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
Re: How do I get "-selective-blur" to work faster?
gaussian-blue is a single pass 2-dimention convolution, as such it it quite slow. A faster way is to just use -blur which is a 2-pass 1-dimentional blur.
For detailed low level examples of this see.. Gaussian vs Blur Kernels
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/convol ... an_vs_blur
For VERY VERY large gaussian blurs or convolution with non-gaussian shapes, you can switch to using a multiple of images in a Frequency Space (using Fast Fourier Transforms or FFT) see...
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/fourie ... /#multiply
Multiple of the double FFT images this is not built into ImageMagick
FUTURE: eventually we may get someone who will be able to add -fourier multiply of FFT images or even a more direct -blur-fourier of normal image as built in operators.
For detailed low level examples of this see.. Gaussian vs Blur Kernels
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/convol ... an_vs_blur
For VERY VERY large gaussian blurs or convolution with non-gaussian shapes, you can switch to using a multiple of images in a Frequency Space (using Fast Fourier Transforms or FFT) see...
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/fourie ... /#multiply
Multiple of the double FFT images this is not built into ImageMagick
FUTURE: eventually we may get someone who will be able to add -fourier multiply of FFT images or even a more direct -blur-fourier of normal image as built in operators.
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: 2011-07-03T04:02:30-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
Re: How do I get "-selective-blur" to work faster?
anthony thanks will try
fmw42 yes I known about Q8 but there is no effect on the speed
fmw42 yes I known about Q8 but there is no effect on the speed