Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Qkstream
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-04-20T06:23:04-07:00
Authentication code: 13

Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Post by Qkstream »

hi there
We've been using ImageMagick for quite some time and lately we've turned on some new servers 2008/2003 64 bit. We've mainly been running 32bit servers in the past and for those Q8 seems to have run quicker for our needs than the Q16 versions. The version we're currently running is ImageMagick-6.6.3-Q8 (dll).

I'm not entirely sure as to why the Q8 version seems to run quicker for us (about 4 times), but we would like to take full advantage of the 64bit OS and see if we can:

either run Q8 in 64 bit (not sure if this is even an option)
or run Q16 and have it give us the same response time as the Q8 up to this point.

The image needs we have are pretty basic - we normally simply make previews of high-res files (thumbs, med and high-res - maybe 1000px wide). Keeping this in mind, we might not need the sophistication level that the Q16 offers - and that might be what causes it to be slower than the Q8.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

The goal is to find the best and quickest functional version we could use with the 64bit system.
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Post by magick »

The Q8 version should always run faster than the Q16 version and uses about half the memory. The Q8 version runs fine under 64-bit Windows, we however do not provide binaries for Q8. For Q8 @ 64-bits, you would need to compile ImageMagick yourself. For your application, there is no reason not to run the 32-bit version of ImageMagick on your 64-bit machine. The 64-bit version is useful if you expect any of your images to exceed 3GB of memory.
Qkstream
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-04-20T06:23:04-07:00
Authentication code: 13

Re: Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Post by Qkstream »

Thanks much for your comments.

In terms of the size of the image, i would imagine there might be some compressed jpgs or other file types that we might get that expanded might go over 3Gb.
Is there a list of steps for compiling our own Q8 version of ImageMagick that we can take a look at?
User avatar
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064
Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00

Re: Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Post by magick »

To compile ImageMagick yourself, see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/advan ... lation.php.
Qkstream
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-04-20T06:23:04-07:00
Authentication code: 13

Re: Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Post by Qkstream »

Ok. Thank you for the link.

We went ahead and installed the 32bit - ImageMagick-6.7.6-6-Q8-windows-dll.

But at the end - this command: convert logo: logo.miff
comes back with: Invalid Parameter - logo.miff

Are we doing something wrong?

I think we had the same issue with 64bit when we had that installed earlier.
Any thoughts?
Qkstream
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-04-20T06:23:04-07:00
Authentication code: 13

Re: Using Q8 and Q16 on a 64bit server

Post by Qkstream »

I should mention that the "Invalid Parameter - logo.miff" error is only triggered on the 2008 x64 bit machine. The 2003 x64bit seems to have loaded fine. We used the same x64 bit file for installations on both machines.

We also installed the 8 bits-per-pixel (q8) on both machines - with the same result.


The installation files are:
ImageMagick-6.7.6-6-Q8-windows-dll
ImageMagick-6.7.6-6-Q16-windows-x64-dll

Please let us know what could be interfering with the installation on the 2008 x64 system.
Post Reply