No Image Background?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
GlxyDs
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-04-27T14:39:50-07:00
Authentication code: 13

No Image Background?

Post by GlxyDs »

Why does this not create an image background?

convert.exe -frame 1x1 -size 350x -texture "C:\Users\Michel\Desktop\Messaging\grad1.png" -fill "blue" -font Arial -pointsize 14 caption:"Test" C:\Users\Michel\Desktop\temp.jpg
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: No Image Background?

Post by fmw42 »

please clarify what it is you are trying to achieve. I am confused by where you want the texture and where you want the background color. For background color, you need to add -background somecolor. But with your command I never see any texture.
Last edited by fmw42 on 2012-04-27T16:16:37-07:00, edited 2 times in total.
GlxyDs
Posts: 2
Joined: 2012-04-27T14:39:50-07:00
Authentication code: 13

Re: No Image Background?

Post by GlxyDs »

I tried that and it didn't work...
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: No Image Background?

Post by fmw42 »

GlxyDs wrote:I tried that and it didn't work...

Please explain what you want to do. Where do you want the texture and where the background color.

For such things see at the very top and very bottom of:
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/fonts/

With tiling a texture you generally have to specify a file size. If you just want to use a texture image for the background, then it will have a specified size and you have to draw your texture (-draw, -annotate) with that size in mind. I am not sure you can do that with label: or caption. You would have to create your label: image on transparent background. Then create the same sized texture image. Then composite the text on the background texure, if you want text on a textured background by only specifying the width.

A 1x1 frame is probably not much different than adding a simple 1x1 border of whatever color you want.
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: No Image Background?

Post by Bonzo »

Try:

Code: Select all

-size 350x220 tile:noise.jpg  -fill blue -font Arial -pointsize 14 -gravity Center -annotate +0+0 'Test' output.jpg
User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: No Image Background?

Post by anthony »

Note that while -texture is a setting that "convert" understands, it does not have any operators taht make use of it.

The -texture setting is used by other CLI commands, which often internally makes use of "convert" to handling options. "montage" and "display" are I believe commands which does use this setting.

IMv7 (still in alpha development) may be able to make more use of this option as the operations provided by other commands are made available to the new combined CLI and scripting API.

For image tiling (and other canvas creation) see..
IM Examples, Canvas Creation, Tiles Canvases.
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/canvas/#tile
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply