I have a lot of *.png files and want to build a single animation. The command I use is the following:
convert -loop 0 -alpha set -dispose previous -delay 0 *.png ani.gif
It works OK, but... there is a pause between loops. Though the pause between frames is very small so everything looks smooth, the pause between loops is about a second.
I built the gif under Windows x64 and tested the gif with Firefox 18 / Google Chrome 24. I want to get rid of this unwanted pause to make the whole animation smooth.
Sorry for possible duplicate, I'm a noob here.
Regards,
[Resolved] Pause between loops
[Resolved] Pause between loops
Last edited by noober on 2013-02-04T23:47:28-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Pause between loops
try
convert -dispose previous -delay 0 *.png -alpha set -loop 0 ani.gif
Most likely it is the viewer. Many viewer have built in minimum delays that you cannot get around.
convert -dispose previous -delay 0 *.png -alpha set -loop 0 ani.gif
Most likely it is the viewer. Many viewer have built in minimum delays that you cannot get around.
Re: Pause between loops
Looks the same.fmw42 wrote:try
convert -dispose previous -delay 0 *.png -alpha set -loop 0 ani.gif
All the rest of looped gifs work just fine. For instance, the bunny rabbit from the IM tutorial (cleared frames technique section). No visible delay between loops. So, it's something wrong with my command.fmw42 wrote:Most likely it is the viewer. Many viewer have built in minimum delays that you cannot get around.
Re: Pause between loops
I want to do something like this:
There is NO delay between the last and the first frames. Now what I get:
There IS a pause at the end of every cycle (when the top vertex is facing "camera" and snake eye is at right). Please help, I tried all options and can't understand how to eliminate the damned interloop delay.
There is NO delay between the last and the first frames. Now what I get:
There IS a pause at the end of every cycle (when the top vertex is facing "camera" and snake eye is at right). Please help, I tried all options and can't understand how to eliminate the damned interloop delay.
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Pause between loops
The problem isn't with the command, but the frames. Take a look at them. Out of 20 frames, how many have "one" on the right? About 5 frames. How many frames have "five" in the same position? One frame.
It looks to me as if the frames weren't generated at a constant rate of rotation. The die accelerates at the start and decelerates at the end.
It looks to me as if the frames weren't generated at a constant rate of rotation. The die accelerates at the start and decelerates at the end.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
-
- Posts: 12159
- Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
- Authentication code: 1151
- Location: England, UK
Re: Pause between loops
Just to confirm, I disassembled the animation twice and reassembled all 40 frames into one animation, making it twice as long as yours. Each time the "one" came to the right side, it slowed to a stop, then speeded up. I couldn't see any difference between the end of my animation and the mid-way point.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Re: Pause between loops
Oh, I see now. Yep, the problem was with the frames. Thank you.