Page 3 of 3
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-23T14:20:14-07:00
by Fubster
Checked to be sure:
Code: Select all
# /usr/local/bin/convert -list
-bash: /usr/local/bin/convert: No such file or directory
root@superbad [~]# /usr/bin/convert -list
Version: ImageMagick 5.5.1 10/20/02 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 2002 ImageMagick Studio LLC...
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-23T18:53:12-07:00
by fmw42
to get the IM version the command is
convert -version
identify -version
convert -list option
needs an option, such as
convert -list list
or
convert -list type
etc
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-23T20:19:10-07:00
by Fubster
Thanks, rans that command to be sure, and it returned the same info:
Code: Select all
# convert -version
Version: ImageMagick 5.5.1 10/20/02 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 2002 ImageMagick Studio LLC
And I ran this again, just to be sure:
Code: Select all
# convert -list list
convert: Invalid list type (list).
I guess version 5.5.1 does not support "list" as an option. However, it did return a font list for "convert -list type"
Code: Select all
# convert -list type
Path: /usr/lib/ImageMagick-5.5.1/type-ghostscript.mgk
Name Family Style Stretch Weight
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AvantGarde-Book AvantGarde normal normal 400
AvantGarde-BookOblique AvantGarde oblique normal 400
AvantGarde-Demi AvantGarde normal normal 600
AvantGarde-DemiOblique [it continues...]
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T10:19:02-07:00
by fmw42
You are probably right as IM 5.x is so very old. You should consider getting an update to at least some version of IM 6
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T10:24:18-07:00
by Fubster
A few questions about installing.
First, should I do a "yum remove ImageMagick"?
This is the response I get when I do it. I have answered no at this point:
Code: Select all
# yum remove ImageMagick
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
Setting up Remove Process
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package ImageMagick.i386 0:6.2.8.0-4.el5_5.3 set to be erased
--> Processing Dependency: libMagick.so.10 for package: ImageMagick-devel
--> Processing Dependency: libWand.so.10 for package: ImageMagick-devel
--> Processing Dependency: ImageMagick = 6.2.8.0-4.el5_5.3 for package: ImageMagick-devel
--> Running transaction check
---> Package ImageMagick-devel.i386 0:6.2.8.0-4.el5_5.3 set to be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Dependencies Resolved
================================================================================================================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================================================================================
Removing:
ImageMagick i386 6.2.8.0-4.el5_5.3 installed 11 M
Removing for dependencies:
ImageMagick-devel i386 6.2.8.0-4.el5_5.3 installed 312 k
Transaction Summary
================================================================================================================
Remove 2 Package(s)
Reinstall 0 Package(s)
Downgrade 0 Package(s)
Is this ok [y/N]: n
Exiting on user Command
Complete!
I am confused by the 6.2.8 reported here, since I can only seem to access version 5.5.1.
Second, I have downloaded the latest *.tar.gz version of each of the delegates from the imagemagick ftp site. What do I need to do to install them? For instance, I unzipped jpef-8b, then went into that directory, and ran "./configure make", it replied with
Code: Select all
# ./configure make
configure: WARNING: you should use --build, --host, --target
checking build system type... Invalid configuration `make': machine `make' not recognized
configure: error: /bin/sh ./config.sub make failed
Should I use "./configure build"? So for such noob questions here, I've never installed stuff on a unix/linux machine before.
Will it be the same command for each delegate?
Third, do I need to do any special when making/installing ImageMagick to make it pull-in these delegates?
Fourth, should I be doing all this from any specific directory? I created a /im directory, and doing all this from there...but I can move it if I need to.
As always, I greatly appreciate the help I have received here
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T10:44:25-07:00
by Bonzo
I just did what I said on a previous post to install and it worked OK.
You do have two versions on the server but the problem is finding where the one you want is. Removing the 6.2.8 and reinstalling will probably not help.
Try this and any other variations you can think of:
Code: Select all
<?php
echo "<pre>";
system("/usr/local/bin/convert -version");
echo "</pre>";
echo "<pre>";
system("/usr/bin/convert -version");
echo "</pre>";
echo "<pre>";
system("/usr/local/convert -version");
echo "</pre>";
echo "<pre>";
system("convert -version");
echo "</pre>";
?>
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T11:02:02-07:00
by Fubster
I did all the examples you suggested, and only got a hit on "/usr/bin/convert -version", which reported 5.5.1
Then I did a find (gotta love google):
Code: Select all
# find / -name convert
/usr/bin/convert
/home/username1/public_html/testforum/sources/loginauth/convert
/home/username1/public_html/test/forum/sources/loginauth/convert
/home/username1/public_html/forum/sources/loginauth/convert
/home/cpimins/magick/ImageMagick-5.5.1/utilities/convert
/home/cpimins/magick/ImageMagick-5.5.1/utilities/.libs/convert
First one is the one we know about. Last two both reported version 5.5.1. Middle three responded with "-bash: [whatever] is a directory"
I understand your previous install instructions, and I can follow them...I was simply concerned because that does not address the issue of delegates at all (as far as I can tell). If I am mistaken, please tell me.
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T11:03:56-07:00
by Bonzo
Thats funny I am just running "find / -name 'convert'" as well
Also found it with Google; my result was: /usr/bin/convert
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T11:07:56-07:00
by Fubster
I'm still a noob, even if I can use google. And it doesn't answer any of the questions, since I never found a hit on anything that reported a version other than 5.5.1.
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T11:09:37-07:00
by Bonzo
All I can say is it worked for me; not being a Linux user I understood that when you install software it automaticaly installed the depedencies ?
But again if you are going to install over the 6.2.8 version is php going to be able to find it ?
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T11:40:40-07:00
by Fubster
Oh boy, oh boy, I think I'm there! I did the configure, make, make install...then my "find" command found a new one: usr/local/bin/convert. That one reports version 6.6.4-10. And, I accessed it via php:
Code: Select all
echo "<pre>";
system("/usr/local/bin/convert -version");
echo "</pre>";
As a final test, I converted my Photoshop.jpg using that path......and viola!
Thank you BOTH SO MUCH!!!
Re: JPEG Image Quality - how good is it?
Posted: 2010-11-24T12:01:08-07:00
by Bonzo
I am glad its sorted - I had my doubts that the new install would work.