Page 1 of 1

problems with conflicting environment variables

Posted: 2008-01-29T08:49:20-07:00
by yoniekai
hello. im using Qt 4 and in order to use it i need the PATH environment variable. i saw in the windows variable properties that Path is already taken by imagemagick. i replaced the imagemagick path with Qt's bin path. now i can run my Qt applications, but in turn i cant run my magick++ codes. even debugging with visual studio causes errors (error spawning 'cmd.exe'). please can anyone help me set this up? :(

Re: problems with conflicting environment variables

Posted: 2008-01-30T08:58:57-07:00
by yoniekai
by the way, MAGICK_DEBUG is not working out for me, i tried setting the environment variable MAGICK_DEBUG to "configure" to try checking where its looking at but the compiler complains of

Code: Select all

c:\imagemagick-6.3.8\magick++\lib\Magick++/Include.h(13) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'magick/magick-config.h': No such file or directory
i tried to set MAGICK_HOME to the magick folder where magick-config.h is located but still no avail. the error above still pops up. what am i missing?

Re: problems with conflicting environment variables

Posted: 2008-01-30T11:24:11-07:00
by magick
Did you install ImageMagick from the self-installing binary distribution? If so, go to the installed location, perhaps c:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.3.8-Q16. Next change to the Magick++_Demos folder. Click on the button workspace. Build and execute. Assuming this works, now use the button workspace as a template for your own Magick++ project.

Re: problems with conflicting environment variables

Posted: 2008-01-30T17:18:04-07:00
by yoniekai
yes, the binary works, but im planning on using the zipped source version of windows, because im aiming for a static distribution. :( i want to make an executable that doesnt rely on dlls so by using the headers in the zipped version instead i can just make a static executable when using Qt.

what's bugging me is it cant find the magick++.h and the magick-config.h headers, even when i included them in the vc++ directories, or put them on a relative directory