Page 1 of 1
[SOLVED] -pointsize operator does not work
Posted: 2009-08-06T12:45:51-07:00
by cotcot
I am trying out the example from
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/text/.
Code: Select all
convert -background lightblue -fill blue -font Palatino-Italic \
-size 1920x1080 -pointsize 24 label:Anthony label_size.gif
This gives me an image of 1920 x 1080 pixels with the text justified over the full width. I expected (as the example in the documentation shows) text with small letter in the upper left corner. I looks like the -pointsize instruction is not accepted.
Can anybody help me ?
I run image magick 6.5.4 under ubuntu jaunty on a amd64 box.
Thanks
Re: -pointsize operator does not work
Posted: 2009-08-06T12:54:29-07:00
by Bonzo
It works Ok on Windows with Im 6.5.4 altough I changed the font to Arial as I do not have Palatino-Italic installed.
Try it all on one line and see what happens:
Code: Select all
convert -background lightblue -fill blue -font Palatino-Italic -size 1920x1080 -pointsize 24 label:Anthony label_size.gif
Re: -pointsize operator does not work
Posted: 2009-08-06T18:50:02-07:00
by fmw42
You have bad space characters in your command line. After I zapped gremlins in your text, it worked fine for me. I also did not have your font, so changed to something more common. Perhaps your Palatino-Italics is not ttf.
Try this
convert -background lightblue -fill blue -font Helvetica -size 1920x1080 -pointsize 24 label:Anthony label_size.gif
Re: -pointsize operator does not work
Posted: 2009-08-06T20:14:26-07:00
by anthony
This ability to use BOTH -size and -pointsize together was only added recently! That is in IM v6.5.2-4.
The warning on the "Text to Image Handling" section of IM examples
says...
Before version 6.5.2-4, IM would completely ignore the "-pointsize" setting if a "-size" setting is also given. This causes the text to be auto-sized to 'best fit' the size given.
Re: -pointsize operator does not work
Posted: 2009-08-07T09:05:29-07:00
by cotcot
Made an error in previous post. Version 6.4.5 was installed.
The space was not the problem.
I compiled 6.5.4.9 and now it is working.
Thanks for all of you who replied my post.