Page 1 of 1
How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-24T07:23:49-07:00
by ooe8eoo
Hi,
I am executing the convert command from another Windows application.
The black DOS window will appear whenever the command is executing. Is there a way to suppress the window?
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-24T16:22:27-07:00
by Albireo
ooe8eoo wrote:Hi,
I am executing the convert command from another Windows application.
The black DOS window will appear whenever the command is executing. Is there a way to suppress the window?
What Windows application?
//Jan
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-24T18:26:18-07:00
by ooe8eoo
It is a commercial digital asset management application.
It allows a single line command to be used for processing the images.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-24T19:01:33-07:00
by magick
Suppressing the command window is an option when a Windows program is built. Once a program is compiled with the command window option enabled, we do not believe there is a way to suppress it. The ImageMagick Windows distribution includes a version of convert that suppresses the command windows at run time.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-24T19:34:49-07:00
by ooe8eoo
magick wrote:The ImageMagick Windows distribution includes a version of convert that suppresses the command windows at run time.
Hi magick,
Do you mean that by using this distribution, the command window could be suppressed even if the command is executed from that commercial application?
If this is the case, I would appreciate if you could show me the link to that Windows distribution.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-24T19:54:02-07:00
by magick
See
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/binar ... hp#windows. We don't know anything about the commercial application. However, we built the ImageMagick Windows distribution and we support it and the convert program runs without displaying the command window.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-25T05:25:05-07:00
by ooe8eoo
Just realised that these are the same Windows distributions that I have used for testing.
So I suppose the only solution is to make a suggestion to the commercial application developer.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-25T21:58:33-07:00
by jpiquemal
Hello
Do you use CreateProcess to launch convert.exe ?
If yes, set wShowWindow to SW_HIDE.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-25T22:51:40-07:00
by ooe8eoo
Hi jpiquemal,
I suppose CreateProcess is a programming code function?
No, convert.exe is launched from the application just by typing the commands and path. The input and output image path/filename are replaced by two variables $INPUT and $OUTPUT.
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-26T08:08:06-07:00
by jpiquemal
But how do you call convert.exe ?
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-26T08:25:55-07:00
by ooe8eoo
I am not sure whether I understand your question correctly....
This is a commercial application I purchased. I do not know how convert.exe is called by the programme. As a user, I just need to fill in the command and path in a line box e.g. "C:\Program Files\ImageMagick\convert.exe" $INPUT $OUTPUT.jpg
Re: How to suppress the DOS window when executing a command?
Posted: 2010-01-26T08:48:36-07:00
by jpiquemal
OK, i understand.
You can't modify the behaviour of that program.