Hi,
I am trying to crop one pixel off the right side of an image thats 2048x1024. When I enter the command, it gives me this error:
[r@ariel Desktop]% convert new.png -gravity east -chop 1x0 new1.jpg
convert: geometry does not contain image `new.png' @ transform.c/ChopImage/132.
Is something wrong with my image or am I using the command wrong?
Thanks
chop not working with gravity switch
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: chop not working with gravity switch
works fine for me on IM 6.5.9.1 Q16 Mac OSX Tiger
using IM logo: image
identify logo:
logo:=>LOGO LOGO 640x480 640x480+0+0 8-bit PseudoClass 256c 38.3KB 0.000u 0:00.000
convert logo: -gravity east -chop 1x0 logo_chop1e.gif
identify logo_chop1e.gif
logo_chop1e.gif GIF 639x480 639x480+0+0 8-bit PseudoClass 256c 38.3KB 0.010u 0:00.000
What version of IM are you using. If old, perhaps upgrade. Also try it on any other image, such as the logo: (IM special) image.
Or post a link to your image so others can check it.
using IM logo: image
identify logo:
logo:=>LOGO LOGO 640x480 640x480+0+0 8-bit PseudoClass 256c 38.3KB 0.000u 0:00.000
convert logo: -gravity east -chop 1x0 logo_chop1e.gif
identify logo_chop1e.gif
logo_chop1e.gif GIF 639x480 639x480+0+0 8-bit PseudoClass 256c 38.3KB 0.010u 0:00.000
What version of IM are you using. If old, perhaps upgrade. Also try it on any other image, such as the logo: (IM special) image.
Or post a link to your image so others can check it.
Re: chop not working with gravity switch
I am using Version: ImageMagick 6.5.1-0 2009-08-27 on Ubuntu 9.1 Karmic Koala
Hmm it does work with another image. I wonder what is wrong with my current image. Here is a copy of it:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1791470/file1.png
I'm trying to crop the one pixel of white on the right side. As a work around, I rolled the image one pixel and then chopped off the left side.
Thanks for th help.
Hmm it does work with another image. I wonder what is wrong with my current image. Here is a copy of it:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1791470/file1.png
I'm trying to crop the one pixel of white on the right side. As a work around, I rolled the image one pixel and then chopped off the left side.
Thanks for th help.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: chop not working with gravity switch
Your image has a virtual canvas that needs to be removed by +repage.beth1985 wrote:I am using Version: ImageMagick 6.5.1-0 2009-08-27 on Ubuntu 9.1 Karmic Koala
Hmm it does work with another image. I wonder what is wrong with my current image. Here is a copy of it:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1791470/file1.png
I'm trying to crop the one pixel of white on the right side. As a work around, I rolled the image one pixel and then chopped off the left side.
Thanks for th help.
Identify -verbose file1.png
Geometry: 2048x1024+0+0
Page geometry: 2559x2560+255+767
This works:
convert file1.png +repage -gravity east -chop 1x0 file1_chop1e.png
see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/crop/#crop_repage