Page 1 of 2
Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-05-12T00:24:35-07:00
by techne
hi,
i have a problem with some images (like this one:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4951080/funghi.jpg)
it seems that IM can't use all the clipping-path.
I used (for example) this command:
convert funghi.jpg +clip-path "Tracciato 1" -negate funghi_clip.jpg
this is the result:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4951080/funghi_clip_negate.jpg
it seems that a part of clipping-path is ignored.
I tried with lots of versions with the same result.
Thanks
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-18T13:52:02-07:00
by AxelF1983
I have the same problem. My image file has a clip path. But IM dont use the whole path. I have a image with a pot. When i use -clip. all around the cup is transparent but not the inside of the pot handle. But i have a clip path in the pot handle and around the pot. The problem looks like the images from "techne".
Any news or any idea to solve the problem? Is there another way for a work around?
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-19T02:19:14-07:00
by anthony
Sounds like only one of multiple clipping paths are being applied. Note that a single clipping path could also have been used to specify the hole. WIthout more information I can't tell you more.
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-19T06:29:14-07:00
by AxelF1983
I upload the EPS-File that you can have a look. You can download the EPS on:
http://www.fileuploadx.de/489320
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-19T10:19:00-07:00
by Drarakel
Both images in that thread work fine for me (IM v6.6.3-0). What versions are you using? @AxelF1983
(Hmm.. I thought that I had a problem, too, when testing the funghi.jpg back then. Maybe my memory tricks me - or the problem was solved since then.)
I used the commandline:
Code: Select all
convert -density 300 069415A1.eps -profile USWebCoatedSWOP.icc -profile sRGB.icm -alpha transparent -clip -alpha opaque test.png
(I think that your EPS has a real alpha channel, too. But it's a bit more trickier to use that - and wouldn't make much of a difference in that example.)
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-20T01:10:49-07:00
by AxelF1983
Thanks for fast reply. I use ImageMagick 6.6.1-3 2010-04-22 Q16 and your command dont work. the pot handle is still not free. is there a huge difference between the IM version?
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-20T03:58:22-07:00
by Drarakel
Well, my testing command was for use with color profiles - but even without profiles, it should still work.
You could try something like that again:
convert -density 300 069415A1.eps -colorspace RGB -alpha transparent -clip -alpha opaque -depth 8 test.png
And if that doesn't work, then you probably should update ImageMagick.
I'm getting:
when I'm using the clipping path:
http://img3.imagebanana.com/img/d7apw8t ... 1_clip.png
when I'm using the alpha from the EPS (just for comparison):
http://img3.imagebanana.com/img/b9lz9tk ... _alpha.png
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-21T01:04:23-07:00
by AxelF1983
Thanks for your reply.
Now i have updated my version to IM v6.6.3-0. But it still dont run!
On my local windows computer it runs with the version.
But on the (unix) server it doesnt run. the inside of the pot handle is still not transparent.
Any idea? Thanks forward!
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-21T12:53:47-07:00
by Drarakel
Wait a minute.. Now there are two systems?
You are getting the desired result (
that one, right?) on your Windows PC, but not on the Unix server - is that correct?
If yes, then please tell the exact versions (with 'convert -version') that are running on your Windows PC and on the Unix server. And tell the exact commandlines that you used there.
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-21T14:48:46-07:00
by AxelF1983
It works right on the windows system with your command (pod handle is transparent):
Code: Select all
convert -density 300 069415A1.eps -colorspace RGB -alpha transparent -clip -alpha opaque -depth 8 test.png
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.3-0 2010-07-21 Q16
http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP
Ghostscript 8.71
But it doesnt work on the unix server with the same command (pod handle isnt transparent). But versions are the same:
Version: ImageMagick 6.6.3-0 2010-07-21 Q16
http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
Features: OpenMP
GPL Ghostscript 8.71 (2010-02-10)
I use the same images, same versions, same commands... But on the server the handle isnt transparent.
Hope you have an idea.
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-21T16:16:59-07:00
by Drarakel
Did you compile the versions from source? Maybe there are some delegates/libraries missing or different?
Let's try to narrow it down a bit. Take that JPG (clipping path is included) - and the following command:
http://j.imagehost.org/0787/069415A1.jpg
Code: Select all
convert 069415A1.jpg -clip -negate test.jpg
My result is this:
http://i.imagehost.org/0873/test_10.jpg
What's the result on your Unix server?
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-22T00:24:00-07:00
by AxelF1983
My result with your file and your command on the unix server is this:
http://a.imagehost.org/0266/test.jpg
No transparent pod handle.
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-22T02:18:30-07:00
by AxelF1983
Can you send my your configure.xml and the output from command?
This are my output files:
My configure.xml:
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE configuremap [
<!ELEMENT configuremap (configure)+>
<!ELEMENT configure (#PCDATA)>
<!ATTLIST configure name CDATA #REQUIRED>
<!ATTLIST configure value CDATA #REQUIRED>
]>
<configuremap>
<configure name="NAME" value="ImageMagick"/>
<configure name="LIB_VERSION" value="0x663"/>
<configure name="LIB_VERSION_NUMBER" value="6,6,3,0"/>
<configure name="RELEASE_DATE" value="2010-07-21"/>
<configure name="CONFIGURE" value="./configure "/>
<configure name="PREFIX" value="/usr/local"/>
<configure name="EXEC-PREFIX" value="/usr/local"/>
<configure name="VERSION" value="6.6.3"/>
<configure name="CC" value="gcc -std=gnu99 -std=gnu99"/>
<configure name="CFLAGS" value="-fopenmp -g -O2 -Wall -pthread"/>
<configure name="CPPFLAGS" value="-I/usr/local/include/ImageMagick"/>
<configure name="PCFLAGS" value="-fopenmp"/>
<configure name="DEFS" value="-DHAVE_CONFIG_H"/>
<configure name="LDFLAGS" value="-L/usr/local/lib "/>
<configure name="LIBS" value="-lMagickCore -llcms -ltiff -lfreetype -ljpeg -lpng -lfontconfig -lwmf -lwmflite -lXext -lXt -lSM -lICE -lX11 -lbz2 -lrsvg-2 -lgdk_pixbuf-2.0 -lgobject-2.0 -lgmodule-2.0 -ldl -lglib-2.0 -lxml2 -lz -lm -lgomp -lpthread "/>
<configure name="CXX" value="g++"/>
<configure name="CXXFLAGS" value="-pthread"/>
<configure name="DISTCHECK_CONFIG_FLAGS" value="--disable-deprecated --with-quantum-depth=16 --with-umem=no --with-autotrace=no --with-gslib=no --with-fontpath= --with-perl=no"/>
<configure name="HOST" value="x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu"/>
<configure name="DELEGATES" value="bzlib fontconfig freetype jpeg jng lcms png rsvg tiff x11 xml wmf zlib"/>
<configure name="COPYRIGHT" value="Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC"/>
<configure name="WEBSITE" value="http://www.imagemagick.org"/>
<configure name="QuantumDepth" value="16"/>
</configuremap>
identify -list configure:
Code: Select all
Path: /usr/local/lib/ImageMagick-6.6.3/config/configure.xml
Name Value
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC gcc -std=gnu99 -std=gnu99
CFLAGS -fopenmp -g -O2 -Wall -pthread
CONFIGURE ./configure
COPYRIGHT Copyright (C) 1999-2010 ImageMagick Studio LLC
CPPFLAGS -I/usr/local/include/ImageMagick
CXX g++
CXXFLAGS -pthread
DEFS -DHAVE_CONFIG_H
DELEGATES bzlib fontconfig freetype jpeg jng lcms png rsvg tiff x11 xml wmf zlib
DISTCHECK_CONFIG_FLAGS --disable-deprecated --with-quantum-depth=16 --with-umem=no --with-autotrace=no --with-gslib=no --with-fontpath= --with-perl=no
EXEC-PREFIX /usr/local
HOST x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
LDFLAGS -L/usr/local/lib
LIB_VERSION 0x663
LIB_VERSION_NUMBER 6,6,3,0
LIBS -lMagickCore -llcms -ltiff -lfreetype -ljpeg -lpng -lfontconfig -lwmf -lwmflite -lXext -lXt -lSM -lICE -lX11 -lbz2 -lrsvg-2 -lgdk_pixbuf-2.0 -lgobject-2.0 -lgmodule-2.0 -ldl -lglib-2.0 -lxml2 -lz -lm -lgomp -lpthread
NAME ImageMagick
PCFLAGS -fopenmp
PREFIX /usr/local
QuantumDepth 16
RELEASE_DATE 2010-07-21
VERSION 6.6.3
WEBSITE http://www.imagemagick.org
Path: [built-in]
Name Value
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAME ImageMagick
Thanks forward!
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-23T08:57:47-07:00
by Drarakel
It seems to be an issue with rsvg.
My ImageMagick version uses the internal SVG renderer - thus no problem. One can use ImageMagick with rsvg - which gets usually recommended. (See also here:
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/draw/#svg)
Don't know why it has a problem here. I also tested the file with a standalone version of rsvg (v2.26.2, for Windows) - no complete clipping-path...
My ImageMagick installation uses this:
convert -list format
...
MSVG SVG rw+ ImageMagick's own SVG internal renderer
...
SVG SVG rw+ Scalable Vector Graphics (XML 2.4.19)
SVGZ SVG rw+ Compressed Scalable Vector Graphics (XML 2.4.19)
I suspect that your Windows system uses something similar. And your Unix server uses rsvg. Can you report the versions with "convert -list format"?
One more test - take only the clipping path:
069415A1.svg (Link deleted)
Now try a) "convert 069415A1.svg test1.png" and b) "convert MSVG:069415A1.svg test2.png" on the Unix server. The second version should show the correct pot handle - right?
A workaround would be to install ImageMagick without rsvg then.
Re: Possible bug: partial clipping-path on jpg & tiff
Posted: 2010-07-25T01:36:47-07:00
by AxelF1983
Thank you for your answer. You are right: The pot handle of the test1.png is not transparent, the test2.png is transparent.
This is the part of the file format:
Code: Select all
...
MSVG SVG rw+ ImageMagick's own SVG internal renderer
...
SVG SVG rw+ Scalable Vector Graphics (RSVG 2.18.2)
SVGZ SVG rw+ Compressed Scalable Vector Graphics (RSVG 2.18.2)
...
How can i install IM without rsvg? What i have to change then? Thanks for your help!