Page 1 of 1

Tune up Convert - resize large images

Posted: 2011-02-24T08:41:03-07:00
by Franzose
Hi,

is there a way to tune up my command?

$memory = 512mb - 1024mb
$v_a->n_article_dpi = 100 - 300

source width = ~12598px
source height = ~9449px

$t_width = >< source width
$t_height = >< source height

Code: Select all

$command = "convert -limit memory ".$memory."mb -compress None -geometry ".$t_width."x".$t_height." -density ".$v_a->n_article_dpi."x".$v_a->n_article_dpi." ".$source_image."  ".$trans_path;
Actually i need for this step more than 15 minutes to finish.

I have read a lot of several posts on this and other communities but i found nothing that helps in my case.
Changing the version of imagemagick is no option for me, cause i have to use a fix excisting enviroment.

Thanks a lot

Bernd

Re: Tune up Convert - resize large images

Posted: 2011-02-24T08:44:47-07:00
by magick
Setting resource limits are relative to your environment. The best advice we can give is to monitor how ImageMagick reacts to your resource settings with the -debug cache command line option. If the pixel cache goes to disk, you can expect increased run times due to I/O intensive rather than memory intensive work.

Re: Tune up Convert - resize large images

Posted: 2011-02-25T07:21:34-07:00
by Franzose
Is there a way to output the debug log directly via php

i tested it with following

Code: Select all

exec($command, $out, $retval); pa($out); pa($retval);
pa() is a function who writes a array formatted to the screen :)

I dont have access to any log-file.

With that i get only 0 (success ?) and 1 (failed ?)