Page 1 of 1

Convert WMF to BMP

Posted: 2011-05-24T02:37:11-07:00
by remyv23
Hello,

I want to convert and resize a file temp.wmf to temp.bmp. So I try with this command :

Code: Select all

convert temp.wmf -resize 400x400 temp.bmp
It works but my image is flattened.

Is there a mistake with my code ?

Thanks.

Sorry for my english, I'm french.

Re: Convert WMF to BMP

Posted: 2011-05-24T06:58:42-07:00
by whugemann
What do you mean by "flattened"?

WMF is a vector graphic and BMP is a (miserable) pixel grafic format. As with all vector formats, you should better use -density instead of -resize. Note that the density must be set before you load the vector image:

convert -density 100x100 test.wmf test.bmp

Via density, you may also adjust the aspect ratio. (Which what you possibly mean by "flattened".)

Anyway, as both, WMF and BMP, a proprietary Windows formats, you should probably better use a Windows program for this job. Give IrfanView a try, which also allows batch prcoessing and will produce better results in this special context.

Re: Convert WMF to BMP

Posted: 2011-05-25T00:12:59-07:00
by remyv23
Thanks for your answer.

I try your command line but I have the same result.

I want convert a wmf 3544x3544 to a bmp 400x400. So if i have a rectangle in wmf, it will become a square in bmp (flattened).

I'm obliged to use wmf and bmp because this conversion is to show my image in my ERP NAVISION (Microsoft) and it supported only bmp format.

I will try with Irfanview but my priority is imagemagick.