Page 1 of 1

-profile error

Posted: 2013-02-09T09:25:32-07:00
by holden
I keep getting an error when trying to convert a cmyk file to a srgb one- "unable to open file 'sRGB.icc' : no such file or directory." I've been trying the simplest possible form from the IM website:

Code: Select all

convert cmyk_image.jpg -profile sRGB.icc rgb_image.jpg
and still get the error.

*on Windows if that makes a difference*

Re: -profile error

Posted: 2013-02-09T11:56:17-07:00
by fmw42
provide the full path to the profiles if they are not in your working directory.

If the input image has a cmyk profile, then you need to provide the input CMYK or whatever is used profile and the output sRGB profile

Look in the verbose information for the file to see what is being used

Re: -profile error

Posted: 2013-02-11T09:50:14-07:00
by holden
Thanks for the tip concerning the paths and verbose, it clears things up.

Re: -profile error

Posted: 2013-03-27T11:56:24-07:00
by holden
I'm still struggling with this, but in a different place, maybe I'm just doing things in the wrong order. An example:

Code: Select all

convert -size 3000x2400 xc:white ( uvgrid.jpg -strip -resize 2800x2400 ) -gravity center -composite -profile mycustomprofile.icc 8x10colortest.jpg
I've tried putting the -strip and -profile mycustomprofile.icc part right after uvgrid.jpg, and before 8x10colortest.jpg, as well as this combination. Every time I print the output it's the same, and not matching my control print from the same printer. Any ideas?

Re: -profile error

Posted: 2013-03-27T12:21:27-07:00
by snibgo
Diagnosis is difficult without seeing the image and control print.

Why are you stripping the image? If it contains profile data (which is how to translate the pixel numbers into colours, roughly speaking) then you are throwing away that information.

Re: -profile error

Posted: 2013-03-27T12:42:35-07:00
by holden
I'm stripping it because we get images with different profiles, so I thought a generic function would be more efficient than doing the -verbose route. I'm still pretty new at this so I'm sure there is a smarter way!

edit: i did it without the strip and it looks like that did the trick- thanks :D

Re: -profile error

Posted: 2013-03-27T12:52:37-07:00
by snibgo
Yeah, discarding information may be more efficient than using it, but perhaps less effective.

What happens when you don't strip? Can you put the image somewhere, and post the URL here?