Hi,
I'd like to make sure that my jpgs are NOT interlaced (don't want progressive jpg).
Tried all kind of scripts but didn't get it right...
any advice will be appreciated!!
Thanks
Progressive jpg
Re: Progressive jpg
I can obviously run:
convert -interlace none image.jpg new_image.jpg
But when I check the file with gimp it seems interlaced...
convert -interlace none image.jpg new_image.jpg
But when I check the file with gimp it seems interlaced...
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Progressive jpg
In proper IM 6 syntax you need to read the input image first, so try
convert image.jpg -interlace none new_image.jpg
If that does not work, please provide a link to your image. You can host it on any free Image Hosting web site such as dropbox, etc.
Also what version of IM and what platform.
Please see viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620
convert image.jpg -interlace none new_image.jpg
If that does not work, please provide a link to your image. You can host it on any free Image Hosting web site such as dropbox, etc.
Also what version of IM and what platform.
Please see viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620
Re: Progressive jpg
Thanks!!
Seems like it's doing the trick. I'm checking the file with:
identify -verbose new_file.jpg
and it shows:
Interlace: None
Does it mean that the jpeg is not progressive or do I need something else?
Seems like it's doing the trick. I'm checking the file with:
identify -verbose new_file.jpg
and it shows:
Interlace: None
Does it mean that the jpeg is not progressive or do I need something else?
- GreenKoopa
- Posts: 457
- Joined: 2010-11-04T17:24:08-07:00
- Authentication code: 8675308
Re: Progressive jpg
ImageMagick is great at image processing. It has many options when writing JPEGs. If your command is the last step of a longer process, fmw42's advice is perfect. But if you are only modifying jpeg attributes such as the coding, a jpeg specific tool, such as jpegtran, will work faster and with zero loss of image quality.
- fmw42
- Posts: 25562
- Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
- Authentication code: 1152
- Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Re: Progressive jpg
If the verbose info say interlace none, then the resulting jpg is not progressiveDoes it mean that the jpeg is not progressive or do I need something else?
see
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... #interlace
"Use Line or Plane to create an interlaced PNG or GIF or progressive JPEG image.