Page 1 of 1

Two output files during tif -> jpg conversion

Posted: 2013-09-09T10:27:14-07:00
by psuadm
When I do:

convert aa.tif -compress LossLess -quality 100% bb.jpg

two output files are produced:

bb-0.jpg, which is the input file geometry (eg. 9432 x 6360)
bb-1.jpg, which is a reduced geometry version (eg. 1491 x 1005).

I just want a single output file, named bb.jpg, with the geometry of the input file.

How?

Thanks.

Re: Two output files during tif -> jpg conversion

Posted: 2013-09-09T10:46:50-07:00
by snibgo
aa.tif probably contains two images. To find out, "identify aa.tif". If you just want the first image:

Code: Select all

convert aa.tif[0] -compress LossLess -quality 100% bb.jpg

Re: Two output files during tif -> jpg conversion

Posted: 2013-09-09T10:59:12-07:00
by psuadm
That was it! Much thanks.

Re: Two output files during tif -> jpg conversion

Posted: 2013-09-09T12:00:44-07:00
by fmw42
FYI see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... p#compress and http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/formats/#jpg_write

"Lossless refers to lossless JPEG, which is only available if the JPEG library has been patched to support it. Use of lossless JPEG is generally not recommended."