Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
sireeshala
Posts: 38 Joined: 2013-09-27T04:00:05-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by sireeshala » 2013-11-12T05:35:29-07:00
Recently i have updated the image magick version to 6.8.7
i am using the bellow set of code to convert my image from jpg to tiff
Code: Select all
Image image;
image.read( "case.jpg" );
image.magick("TIFF");
image.compressType(Group4Compression);
image.type(BilevelType);
image.write("case_1.tiff");
I am getting a complete white image .
The same image used to work fine with 6.8.2 version .Are there any changes particular to this issue?
the image is at
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0sjy8uvc07f1yww/case.jpg
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2013-11-12T11:04:08-07:00
I get the same using IM 6.8.7.5 Q16 Mac OSX command line
Code: Select all
convert case.jpg -compress group4 -type bilevel tmp.tif
or
Code: Select all
convert case.jpg -type bilevel tmp.tif
But this works fine
Code: Select all
convert case.jpg -threshold 50% -compress group4 tmp.tif
sireeshala
Posts: 38 Joined: 2013-09-27T04:00:05-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by sireeshala » 2013-11-18T22:09:11-07:00
But its worked fine with out adding threshold value in 6.8.2
is this introduced in latest version ?
is there any specific criteria for an image to add the threshold value?
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2013-11-18T23:23:53-07:00
I suspect there was a bug introduced somewhere between these versions.
Last edited by
fmw42 on 2013-11-19T21:30:52-07:00, edited 1 time in total.
dlemstra
Posts: 1570 Joined: 2013-05-04T15:28:54-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Contact:
Post
by dlemstra » 2013-11-19T14:05:18-07:00
I just tried the latest beta and this produces a white image for me on windows.
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2013-11-19T15:04:08-07:00
convert case.jpg -compress group4 -type bilevel tmp.tif
produces a white image for me, too, on 6.8.7.6 Q16 Mac OSX
sireeshala
Posts: 38 Joined: 2013-09-27T04:00:05-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by sireeshala » 2013-11-19T21:20:10-07:00
convert case.jpg -compress group4 -type bilevel tmp.tif
But this works fine on windows mechine with version 6.8.2-4.
Only the latest versions giving the white image.
sireeshala
Posts: 38 Joined: 2013-09-27T04:00:05-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by sireeshala » 2013-11-20T02:45:49-07:00
Is this a Bug or a new property "threshold" introduced to the latest versions?
can any one confirm on this ?
fmw42
Posts: 25562 Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Post
by fmw42 » 2013-11-20T10:58:58-07:00
-threshold is just a different way to get a binary image result. The threshold will change where the spit is between white an black in the image. It is not a requirement. The problem you are having is likely a bug. I only added -threshold to give you an alternate until this gets fixed.
snibgo
Posts: 12159 Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK
Post
by snibgo » 2013-11-20T11:30:44-07:00
Group4 is a method for compressing images that contain only black and white. If the image contains other colours, IM needs to reduce it first. I don't suppose this reduction is well-defined, so is always subject to variations in methods used by IM to reduce colours. So it would seem better to always do the explicit reduction first.
sireeshala
Posts: 38 Joined: 2013-09-27T04:00:05-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by sireeshala » 2013-11-20T21:51:11-07:00
I only added -threshold to give you an alternate until this gets fixed.
Is there any estimated dates to get that fixed ?
Basically we are using this from a bat file so we cant particulary change the the command for a single image every time .
magick
Site Admin
Posts: 11064 Joined: 2003-05-31T11:32:55-07:00
Post
by magick » 2013-11-21T08:27:38-07:00
Try
convert case.jpg -normalize -dither none -type bilevel -compress group4 tmp.tif
We will take a closer look at the bilevel algorithm, maybe we can get it to work without normalizing.
sireeshala
Posts: 38 Joined: 2013-09-27T04:00:05-07:00
Authentication code: 6789
Post
by sireeshala » 2013-11-28T04:29:55-07:00
But How its worked with 6.8.2-4 .
And how much time it will take to get an update on this issue