Page 1 of 1

Building x64 from source on Windows

Posted: 2014-01-10T07:32:03-07:00
by thany
I'm trying to build ImageMagick x64 on Windows from source. Configure.exe works just fine, and I selected Dynamic MT build, 64-bit distribution, and Enable HDRI. The rest I left default. On the next screen, I also left things default. Then, the configure appears to work normally.

Then I open the VisualStaticMT project (still following the instructions to the letter), and hittin Build->Build Solution. The crazy thing is that the build finished with no errors. I get all the expected executables in the bin directory. And they even work. Great!

Except that it has built the x86 version. Why? I really did put a tick next to "Build x64 edition". I tried again just to make sure. Should I do something else to get an x64 edition?
Already tried both a Release build and a Debug build - from the surface they appear to be identical, at least in architecture they are.

I'm using Visual Studio 2012 Pro on Windows 7 x64. ImageMagick source distro 6.8.8.

Please note that I'm not a C/C++ programmer at all, so I may not be familiar with all of the jargon.
The reason I'm building IM myself is because I want the HDRI option, which is not in the binary distro.

Re: Building x64 from source on Windows

Posted: 2014-01-10T08:44:45-07:00
by dlemstra
and I selected Dynamic MT build
Then I open the VisualStaticMT project
Are you building the static or the dynamic version?

Re: Building x64 from source on Windows

Posted: 2014-01-10T09:07:49-07:00
by thany
I honestly didn't see the link :X
I'm trying to build the dynamic version. Should I not? Because I noticed the static version produces fairly large executables, and I was hoping the dynamic version would produce DLL's to be shared between the exe's.

Anyway, VisualStaticMT doesn't sound right, now that you mention it. And there is indeed a VisualDynamicMT in the same directory. Lemme try that.

/edit
Yeah that's not the one. Building that produces hundreds of "No such file or directory" errors. Looks like it cannot find *any* of the .h files.

/edit2
Btw, a binary x64-Q16 release with HDRI enabled would suffice, too :)

Re: Building x64 from source on Windows

Posted: 2014-01-10T12:44:33-07:00
by dlemstra
Did you set your target platform to x64 instead of win32 when you build the VisualDynamicMT solution?

Re: Building x64 from source on Windows

Posted: 2014-01-11T08:26:12-07:00
by snibgo
thany wrote:Btw, a binary x64-Q16 release with HDRI enabled would suffice, too :)
If you don't mind bleeding-edge, v7 alpha pecompiled for Windows does HDRI, and it is x64. Available from http://imagemagick.org/download/beta/ . It has no convert.exe. Use magick.exe instead.

Re: Building x64 from source on Windows

Posted: 2014-01-13T02:20:25-07:00
by thany
dlemstra wrote:Did you set your target platform to x64 instead of win32 when you build the VisualDynamicMT solution?
No, I didn't touch it. Just opened it, and hit Build Solution...
snibgo wrote:If you don't mind bleeding-edge, v7 alpha pecompiled for Windows does HDRI, and it is x64. Available from http://imagemagick.org/download/beta/ . It has no convert.exe. Use magick.exe instead.
Thanks, I'll try if that one works for me. It's not mission-ciritical, so I might as well use a beta if it works.